We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Princess Managua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Princess Managua
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
245 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

The room was clean, nice bathroom, the iron was a little beat up and the water in it smelled funny even after changing it out? Next door to a mall but there's nothing special about the mall. There was free coffee near the front desk for those of us that had to leave very early to catch a flight.

There was a nice steak house behind the hotel - a 2 minute walk if that!

  • Liked — nothing stood out
  • Disliked — nothing stood out
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    179
    47
    17
    10
See reviews for
111
91
43
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
managua
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

The hilton princess. with a name like hilton one would expect more than a three star, but you are right. The staff are not trained to the level of more than three star if that. It starts at the top. There is car park but no vigilante, no close circuit tv and the number of break in that have been reported to the police is three just this week. The managements response is to refer to a notice that they are not responsible for any thefts etc. Not responsible is the key here.

So how does one have any confidence and stay or even stop for a quiet drink ??? We have always used the hotel for business friends, celebrations etc but cannot any longer for the failure to address security.

Helpful?
4 Thank chefgeraldManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
240 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

The staff of the hotel were extremely friendly and attentive and the buffet breakfast was pretty good. I had just finished reading "Broken Windows Broken Business" and there were definitely some signs of that here with the Physical plant. The wallpaper in my room (a bit matronly, but not unexpected) was peeling as it was in the halls. The hot water in my room didn't work when I first got there and so I didn't realize I left it on when I departed - there was water all over the place when I got back! They were very quick to clean it up, though, and I didn't have any problems afterward. The workout room had all new equipment and was nice in appearance but the A/C was busted - and it was 100 degrees out with 100% humidity! With the windows open, a parade of ants entered which was a tad disconcerning, but not shocking. I was able to overlook those issues, but they should probably do something about the facilities to spruce them up a bit. I have to admit I was a little disappointed since it was rated #1 here - probably should have splurged a little bit for the Intercontinental down the street!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

stayed for 6 nights excellence service clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff i recommend this hotel...we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2006

The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and considerate. The location is very good, with easy access to multiple good restaurants for dinner, and bars and entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2005

After having stayed many, many times at the beloved Managua Intercon, I must confess that the Princess brings a new level of class and sophistication to the ugly 3rd world sprawl of Managua.

The shuttle service from the airport was courteous and efficient. Check in took no time at all. The lobby is very nice, the rooms are classy, clean and new with a thundering waterfall for a shower.

For food, I did not try the hotel itself but rather Pollo Campero, across the street. This fast food franchise is crazy-popular in Central america. By U.S. Standards it's OK, but for Central America you are talking fine dining. TGI Fridays is also a 3 block walk away, although the area outside did not appear particularly safe- watch for holes in the sidewalk!!.

I must note that I saw quite a few prostitutes (including transvestites) congregating on the main drag outside after nightfall- but the hotel apparently is pretty tight about its no female "guets" policy

The thing I think I liked the most was that the Princess was a relatively small and intimate hotel with very pleasant and intelligent staff. I shall return.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2005

Some business associates and i, were in managua on Nov 13th- 16th. This hotel is very nice in terms of nica standards. Breakfast is included in the room rate and staff are all very friendly and accomidating. There is a bar called the matrix across the street, highly recommened. The people are friendly and the music lively. This country has a long way to go in terms on tourism and recreation. Also there are very few rooms in this city for the number of people needing rooms. We paid 130 usd/night at this hotel. That seems high for a hotel in cen. america. Overall a very comfortable, safe, modern hotel for the business traveler. There is highspeed internet and in room safe, no mini fridge. Most of the comforts of a n. americain hotel. email me if you have any specific questions.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank homerj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.7 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Princess Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Princess Managua

Property: Hilton Princess Managua
Address: Km 4.5 frente Monumento Alexis Arguello | Carretera a Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Managua
#1 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#2 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#2 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Princess Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Princess Managua hotel in Nicaragua is centrally located in the city’s entertainment and business district, only a few minutes from the Augusto Cesar Sandino International Airport (MGA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Princess Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess Managua Hotel Managua
Hilton Hotel Managua
Hilton Managua
Managua Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing