We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wow I was really disappointed with this hotel....I just expect more from a Best Western. The hotel looks like a group of modular buildings linked together by walkways. They are either renovating part of the hotel or it is literally falling apart. The room was clean but it took an hour and a half to get hot water flowing. Some people in our group never did get hot water. There are two pools, one of them quite nice the other small and the water looked cloudy like it needed attention. The staff was not particularly friendly or helpful with the exception of the maintenance guy who was great. Beds were hard and pillows poor. The location is great right across from the airport and the food in the restaurant was good although the service was lacking.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lobby....the ones far away are lower quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farmermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Las Mercedes, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We would like to apologize with you. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience.
Our customer satisfaction is our reason to being. We are sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Because you are very important for us we would like to provide you with a 50% discount to use towards a future stay. When you’re ready to use this discount, please contact me directly and I will personally assist you with your reservation


Lester Prado
Front Desk Supervisor
505-2255900. Ext 246
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    251
    163
    70
    70
See reviews for
119
171
107
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recent stay Aug 2013. Fourth time at hotel with quality worse each time. Pluses - one only, close to airport (walk across or take shuttle). Nice to book on Best Western web site so as to avoid loss of money if need to cancel ie Orbitz. Problems; shower only a trickle of water (shower head probably blocked with minerials), AC on full blast or zero. Had to move bed away from cold air flow. Sink had only limited hot water. TV very poor quality. WiFi internet very, very slow (I just gave up on it). For the price, many better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Las Mercedes, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We would like to apologize with you. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. Our customer satisfaction is our reason to being.

We are sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Because you are very important for us we would like to provide you with a 50% discount to use towards a future stay. When you’re ready to use this discount, please contact me directly and I will personally assist you with your reservation

Lester Prado
Front Desk Supervisor
505-2255900 Ext:246
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Managua hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Really pretty, sprawling older resort style property. Well maintained. Great weekend brunch. Cabana bar nicely situated by the enormous swimming pool. Best room options are the ones located in the breeze ways directly off shooting from lobby. Two guests from our traveling party had rooms located in the back of property.... Not good. Would definitely recommend due to airport location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dachshundlover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When I needed a place to stay close to the airport for an early morning flight, I was thrilled to see a Best Western. I like to stay in a Best Western because of name and reputation. This hotel does not live up to name. The room was nice and clean and the pool nice but the staff was aloof and and cold water in shower! I expected cool water while in Nicaragua but not from a Best Western and little water pressure. When checking in, I was met by a young man and given a check in card and he then walked off without a word left me standing there while two ladies at the desk ignored me and went on counting money and tending to other business. I finally asked where he went and another lady came up front and completed the transaction. For $100 a night I expect better service! The shower leaves alot to be desired. I just expect more from the Best Western name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Las Mercedes, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good Morning Mrs. Rhonda!

We appreciate your comments and on behalf of Best Western Hotel Managua we offer our sincere apologies.

We are currently conducting renovations and soon we will have hot water in all our rooms.

Our goal is to provide the best service and therefore we will take steps to make your experience during the Check In does not happen again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as you deserve.

Please feel free to contact us, we will be happy to assist you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The price you pay for a big chain hotel in dodgy city?? A lot. I can only assume that the high cost of this hotel in a poor city goes towards safety because outside of feeling safe, this place is bad by most standards.
A lot of the staff have shockingly bad customer service. I tried to put this down to perhaps bad wages, poor conditions and lack of training but I not so sure. There were 2 people who stood out as really good, the nighttime reception guy Osmar Merlo (a real gem) and one of the waiters in the restaurant, Jose (if all the waitstaff could be like him this place might have some hope) The 2 girls in beauty saloon were lovely but you will only see them if you require those services. The grounds staff always had a return smile and a "buenas dias" to offer up too which was nice.
The front desk staff were unhelpful, and at times, rude. We ended up joking amongst ourselves about it because their "customer service" was so ridiculously bad.
We had a basic room which was adequate in size with quite comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff were always very polite.
Big problems with the bathroom, it had a constant sewerage smell in it and we never had hot water. We never had anything more than tepid water.
The internet did not work in the room and we had to sit in the restaurant to get the best reception.
This hotel is disappointing at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

$111/night for a room with hardly any hot water, this is a bit expensive. Unless you like to wash with the tap dripping on you. Hard to rinse the shampoo, though. Still, the room was super clean, large, relatively comfortable. The internet service in the lobby was extremely slow and the power outages did not help much. And, surprisingly enough for a hotel right in front of the airport, they don't have breakfast service until 6:00 am whereas the earliest flights need earlier checking-ins. Strange they never offered the possibility to have even earlier breakfasts for those on an early plane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As always in pictures looks beatiful but in real is ready to demolish.
Service is horrible poeple like useless.
Food horrible never drink wine is old food is old.
No one undesrtands even in spanish your needs.
Hot water for a shawer ???? if you are lucky.
The A/C one day work next dont, moving to another room ? a nightmare after 3 hours to a smoking smelly room, with a shared door.... uffff What else ???!!!!!!
HELLLPPPP take me out of here tonight ...
Floor in the ailes alla flooded by the rain through the liking roofs, take care is slippery !!!!
INternet a disaster comes in waves ....
at 5 AM wake up all travelers with whell bags all around the noisy ailes ... if not enough a tree falling fruits all night long.... sleeping well ? forget it....
My fiend alsmost intoxicated for a vinager red win with sediments ....

Room Tip: Look for a room out if this place .... stay at the airport on the floor is better ... food ate the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
591 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
658 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#15 of 50 in Managua
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
89 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Property: Best Western Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing