We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely convenient to airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Really pretty, sprawling older resort style property. Well maintained. Great weekend brunch. Cabana bar nicely situated by the enormous swimming pool. Best room options are the ones located in the breeze ways directly off shooting from lobby. Two guests from our traveling party had rooms located in the back of property.... Not good. Would definitely recommend due to airport location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dachshundlover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

When I needed a place to stay close to the airport for an early morning flight, I was thrilled to see a Best Western. I like to stay in a Best Western because of name and reputation. This hotel does not live up to name. The room was nice and clean and the pool nice but the staff was aloof and and cold water in shower! I expected cool water while in Nicaragua but not from a Best Western and little water pressure. When checking in, I was met by a young man and given a check in card and he then walked off without a word left me standing there while two ladies at the desk ignored me and went on counting money and tending to other business. I finally asked where he went and another lady came up front and completed the transaction. For $100 a night I expect better service! The shower leaves alot to be desired. I just expect more from the Best Western name.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Good Morning Mrs. Rhonda!

We appreciate your comments and on behalf of Best Western Hotel Managua we offer our sincere apologies.

We are currently conducting renovations and soon we will have hot water in all our rooms.

Our goal is to provide the best service and therefore we will take steps to make your experience during the Check In does not happen again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as you deserve.

Please feel free to contact us, we will be happy to assist you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The price you pay for a big chain hotel in dodgy city?? A lot. I can only assume that the high cost of this hotel in a poor city goes towards safety because outside of feeling safe, this place is bad by most standards.
A lot of the staff have shockingly bad customer service. I tried to put this down to perhaps bad wages, poor conditions and lack of training but I not so sure. There were 2 people who stood out as really good, the nighttime reception guy Osmar Merlo (a real gem) and one of the waiters in the restaurant, Jose (if all the waitstaff could be like him this place might have some hope) The 2 girls in beauty saloon were lovely but you will only see them if you require those services. The grounds staff always had a return smile and a "buenas dias" to offer up too which was nice.
The front desk staff were unhelpful, and at times, rude. We ended up joking amongst ourselves about it because their "customer service" was so ridiculously bad.
We had a basic room which was adequate in size with quite comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff were always very polite.
Big problems with the bathroom, it had a constant sewerage smell in it and we never had hot water. We never had anything more than tepid water.
The internet did not work in the room and we had to sit in the restaurant to get the best reception.
This hotel is disappointing at best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

$111/night for a room with hardly any hot water, this is a bit expensive. Unless you like to wash with the tap dripping on you. Hard to rinse the shampoo, though. Still, the room was super clean, large, relatively comfortable. The internet service in the lobby was extremely slow and the power outages did not help much. And, surprisingly enough for a hotel right in front of the airport, they don't have breakfast service until 6:00 am whereas the earliest flights need earlier checking-ins. Strange they never offered the possibility to have even earlier breakfasts for those on an early plane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As always in pictures looks beatiful but in real is ready to demolish.
Service is horrible poeple like useless.
Food horrible never drink wine is old food is old.
No one undesrtands even in spanish your needs.
Hot water for a shawer ???? if you are lucky.
The A/C one day work next dont, moving to another room ? a nightmare after 3 hours to a smoking smelly room, with a shared door.... uffff What else ???!!!!!!
HELLLPPPP take me out of here tonight ...
Floor in the ailes alla flooded by the rain through the liking roofs, take care is slippery !!!!
INternet a disaster comes in waves ....
at 5 AM wake up all travelers with whell bags all around the noisy ailes ... if not enough a tree falling fruits all night long.... sleeping well ? forget it....
My fiend alsmost intoxicated for a vinager red win with sediments ....

Room Tip: Look for a room out if this place .... stay at the airport on the floor is better ... food ate the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Big pool, nice staff, english at the lobby i would come back again. But theres is very bulgar people that are always screaming bad words and is really disturbing and a bad example for the kids

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our 1 week visit to Nicaragua.

First night, we arrived at 10pm for check-in on a confirmed room on a Friday night. I was glad we had brought copies of the paid reservation as they seemed helpful to the checkin lady. She seemed not to speak English at some points and spoke well at other points. We received a lovely King room (although we had requested 2 doubles). We were very tired from the travel from US so all 3 of us shared the one bed - not a problem for us but maybe bad in some situations. The couch could be used in a pinch but it was short and foam covered wood so not the MOST comfortable. Our room was next to the disco so thumping music kept us up. Then the sound check for some event at the hotel was started at 7am! We slept very little that night.

There is plenty of hot water and water pressure IF you choose the right time to shower. I would not try at 5am since many flights leave early that morning and most people are getting ready at that time. My husband learned this. MY shower at 9pm was hot with plenty of pressure :) Two free bottles of water are provided in the room since you should not drink the tap water.

On the second night (the following Thursday) we arrived earlier, around 6pm and received our double room (no couch)-much smaller than the King room near the lobby and very quiet. We had dinner al fresco in the hotel dining area (open until 11pm) and against my better judgement, ordered the fettuccine Alfredo. It was not good but it was edible. Feral cats kept the boy busy while we ate...very cute. We were exhausted from a week of little sleep and slept much better in this room. The beds felt amazingly comfortable in contrast to our foam beds for the past week.

This hotel is WALKING distance from airport - just across the street. This was a blessing as we arrived late and the taxi hawkers and whispers of cheap taxi made it feel a little sketchy. We just walked across the street with our rolling bags and were in our room within 10 minutes. On the return leg, we had a departing flight at 7:45am and we were up and at the airport within minutes.

The free breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT with omelets to-order, fresh pastries, coffee, juices, meats. You may have track the coffee guy down as they don't keep the pots of coffee out.

The pool was closed on the first visit and open on the second. It is a beautiful pool, surrounded by local plants, well-landscaped.

There are individual ac units for each room and you can get it quiet cold, if you wish.

Room Tip: Check-in earlier for a better room option. Rooms near the lobby are quieter yet smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
595 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
410 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
500 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing