We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other choice? Stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“No other choice? Stay here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The price you pay for a big chain hotel in dodgy city?? A lot. I can only assume that the high cost of this hotel in a poor city goes towards safety because outside of feeling safe, this place is bad by most standards.
A lot of the staff have shockingly bad customer service. I tried to put this down to perhaps bad wages, poor conditions and lack of training but I not so sure. There were 2 people who stood out as really good, the nighttime reception guy Osmar Merlo (a real gem) and one of the waiters in the restaurant, Jose (if all the waitstaff could be like him this place might have some hope) The 2 girls in beauty saloon were lovely but you will only see them if you require those services. The grounds staff always had a return smile and a "buenas dias" to offer up too which was nice.
The front desk staff were unhelpful, and at times, rude. We ended up joking amongst ourselves about it because their "customer service" was so ridiculously bad.
We had a basic room which was adequate in size with quite comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff were always very polite.
Big problems with the bathroom, it had a constant sewerage smell in it and we never had hot water. We never had anything more than tepid water.
The internet did not work in the room and we had to sit in the restaurant to get the best reception.
This hotel is disappointing at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    246
    158
    67
    70
See reviews for
114
167
105
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

$111/night for a room with hardly any hot water, this is a bit expensive. Unless you like to wash with the tap dripping on you. Hard to rinse the shampoo, though. Still, the room was super clean, large, relatively comfortable. The internet service in the lobby was extremely slow and the power outages did not help much. And, surprisingly enough for a hotel right in front of the airport, they don't have breakfast service until 6:00 am whereas the earliest flights need earlier checking-ins. Strange they never offered the possibility to have even earlier breakfasts for those on an early plane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

As always in pictures looks beatiful but in real is ready to demolish.
Service is horrible poeple like useless.
Food horrible never drink wine is old food is old.
No one undesrtands even in spanish your needs.
Hot water for a shawer ???? if you are lucky.
The A/C one day work next dont, moving to another room ? a nightmare after 3 hours to a smoking smelly room, with a shared door.... uffff What else ???!!!!!!
HELLLPPPP take me out of here tonight ...
Floor in the ailes alla flooded by the rain through the liking roofs, take care is slippery !!!!
INternet a disaster comes in waves ....
at 5 AM wake up all travelers with whell bags all around the noisy ailes ... if not enough a tree falling fruits all night long.... sleeping well ? forget it....
My fiend alsmost intoxicated for a vinager red win with sediments ....

Room Tip: Look for a room out if this place .... stay at the airport on the floor is better ... food ate the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Managua hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Big pool, nice staff, english at the lobby i would come back again. But theres is very bulgar people that are always screaming bad words and is really disturbing and a bad example for the kids

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our 1 week visit to Nicaragua.

First night, we arrived at 10pm for check-in on a confirmed room on a Friday night. I was glad we had brought copies of the paid reservation as they seemed helpful to the checkin lady. She seemed not to speak English at some points and spoke well at other points. We received a lovely King room (although we had requested 2 doubles). We were very tired from the travel from US so all 3 of us shared the one bed - not a problem for us but maybe bad in some situations. The couch could be used in a pinch but it was short and foam covered wood so not the MOST comfortable. Our room was next to the disco so thumping music kept us up. Then the sound check for some event at the hotel was started at 7am! We slept very little that night.

There is plenty of hot water and water pressure IF you choose the right time to shower. I would not try at 5am since many flights leave early that morning and most people are getting ready at that time. My husband learned this. MY shower at 9pm was hot with plenty of pressure :) Two free bottles of water are provided in the room since you should not drink the tap water.

On the second night (the following Thursday) we arrived earlier, around 6pm and received our double room (no couch)-much smaller than the King room near the lobby and very quiet. We had dinner al fresco in the hotel dining area (open until 11pm) and against my better judgement, ordered the fettuccine Alfredo. It was not good but it was edible. Feral cats kept the boy busy while we ate...very cute. We were exhausted from a week of little sleep and slept much better in this room. The beds felt amazingly comfortable in contrast to our foam beds for the past week.

This hotel is WALKING distance from airport - just across the street. This was a blessing as we arrived late and the taxi hawkers and whispers of cheap taxi made it feel a little sketchy. We just walked across the street with our rolling bags and were in our room within 10 minutes. On the return leg, we had a departing flight at 7:45am and we were up and at the airport within minutes.

The free breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT with omelets to-order, fresh pastries, coffee, juices, meats. You may have track the coffee guy down as they don't keep the pots of coffee out.

The pool was closed on the first visit and open on the second. It is a beautiful pool, surrounded by local plants, well-landscaped.

There are individual ac units for each room and you can get it quiet cold, if you wish.

Room Tip: Check-in earlier for a better room option. Rooms near the lobby are quieter yet smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

What an awesome hotel. This Best Western is located directly across the street from the Managua airport. It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous flowers and plants and a lovely swimming pool. The food is fabulous. I stayed there is Jan/Feb this year when participating in a Mission Trip and I will be returning in October when I will be going on a solo mission trip with a guide/translator who helped on the first trip. I will always stay at the Hotel Las Mercedes when I visit Nicaragua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A team of three of us on a mission trip stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve (December 31), 2012. The hotel was full due to the annual New Year's Eve dance, meal and fireworks but our room was quiet and comfortable. The fireworks were spectacular! Our room did not have hot water for our shower, but we didn't mind as we have experienced this in other South and Central America locations. We understand that some rooms do have hot water. The grounds and reception area of the hotel were clean, attractive and large enough to accommodate the crowd that evening. The staff was excellent and very attentive. The breakfast buffet in the morning was most ample and tasty!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#19 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#23 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Property: BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing