We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better the second time around” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better the second time around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is fine for when you are arriving and departing from the airport and want to be close. The rooms can vary greatly so check them out upon check in. There is nothing fancy about this place in terms of the rooms and the water pressure and temperature (meaning whether or not you get a hot shower). Some of the rooms have a little coffee maker and some don't. I am not sure why they differ. The pool is nice and the bar by the pool is ok. Food decent. We were there for the beginning and ending of a service trip and there are often other large groups doing the same. Would not want to spend any extended time there.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaChaOakland_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    243
    157
    66
    68
See reviews for
110
165
104
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night prior to my flight. The location is great if you have an early flight, but it is the worst value for money ever! They charged usd 95 for a very basic room with no fridge and a shower with hot water that did not become even warm, plus the water pressure was more like dripping. Reception staff was quite unhelpful. there us wifi, but connection is not very good. i would say, it is the worst value for money i had in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdamgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Managua hotels

central america
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location is everything here....directly across from Managua International Airport....within 200 meters from the airport exit to the front door of the hotel. It is priced slightly above average and has only mediocre services.....the food is average as well as the service........but it is safe
And one does not need to risk a wild ride in a Managuan taxi to get there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Managua as the hotel is located right across the street from the Airport. We started out with a triple bed room which came out to 89.00 dollars American. The room was very basic, and we soon realized there was no hot water! We ended up paying an extra 20 dollars American more for the same room with hot water, which is absolutely ridiculous! Food/drink prices were also inflated appropriately compared to any other place we stayed in Nicaragua. Avoid unless absolutely necessary.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about hot water. As not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of a ten day visit to interior Nicaragua. The hotel is extremely convenient to the airport--just walk across a road via an established crossing. Check in was friendly and efficient. Staff that interfaces directly with guests speak English effectively.

The hotel is designed in a way that is open-air making it feel far from a city. Rooms are adequate with a cabin like feel with wood walled interiors that gives a one with nature feeling. Rooms have spacious modern baths. The environment seemed very quiet for an airport hotel. The breakfast is fantastic. I've stayed in very expensive all-inclusives that did not offer the quality of food offered here. It is possible to check into your flight early then walk back to the hotel for breakfast then back to catch your plane.

Finally, pricing is very good for this convenience and quality. I'll visit here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancCabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I live in Nicaragua and have stayed at Best Western Mercedes several times when traveling to and arriving from the US and when greeting visitors. It's an easy walk right across from the airport, but it's not worth staying here unless you have a very early flight or are arriving late at night. While many foreigners won't flinch at the price at first, they will after the terrible service they will ultimately receive during their stay. I have honestly received better service staying in $7 per night hostels in Nicaragua. While it helps to speak Spanish with the staff, it is still unlikely that your simple requests will reach anybody. The menu is limited, the food is incredibly over priced and pretty unappetizing.The breakfast buffet, however, is decent. The rooms aren't horrible but I question the cleanliness of the sheets after I have struggled to sleep through several different stays due to itching from what I am hoping is just a strong detergent and not bed bugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning and end of our 2 week vacation in Nicaragua. The location is unbeatable if you have late or early flights. It's right across the street from the airport. That's basically the reason you stay here. Otherwise, go downtown to Los Robles or Casa Naranja. But if you MUST stay here (like we did), it's fine. They lost our reservation and were very unhelpful until they realized that I work for a tour operator in the United States. They eventually got us into a room, but the air conditioning didn't work. The hotel lacks in charm and the food at the restaurant lacks in flavor, but they have an amazing breakfast buffet with an omelette bar and again - you only stay here because your flights arrive after 8 PM or depart the next morning before 9 AM. Otherwise, you don't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
6.4 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Property: BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing