We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent for the airport, not bad for the other times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Ulster Park, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent for the airport, not bad for the other times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel is literally across the street from the Managua Airport via a cross walk (or shuttle). The staff is really great, food pretty great and the property really nice. the only frustrating thing is that beverages are different prices depending where you buy them, get bottled water in the gift shop not the front desk.Will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgrayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your time and your comments!

We hope you can come soon and visit us again

Regards,
Dolores Romero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    243
    157
    66
    68
See reviews for
110
165
104
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Right across street from airport. Very nice, clean. Good food. Careful of traffic. Spa, pool. Great breakfast, made to order omelette. Nice natural areas. Checking in speed just ok. Security in parking lot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RevRev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been down to Nicaragua 4 times and stayed there the first and last night of each trip since it is so conveniently located to the airport. It is a beautiful property with lovely grounds, 2 pristine pools, and excellent food. Their breakfast buffet has omelets made to order as well as various hot and cold meats, fresh cheese, a selection of bread/rolls/croissants, and fresh fruit. I have had formal dinners their each trip and they are also quite delicious. The food there is safe to eat, even the fresh fruit, salad, and fresh veggies. The water served is bottled water. They provide bottled water in the rooms, and the gift shop sells large 2 liter bottles of cold water for $2 US. The staff is VERY approachable, friendly and accommodating. I have never felt unsafe there. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are large with amenities in them. The water pressure is not that great, but I can deal with that. You can't go wrong here for a pleasant stay or destination wedding. (They really do a nice job at putting on large celebrations! I have witnessed a few there.)

Room Tip: If you have any issue at all, don't hesitate to call the front desk or go to the front desk. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We love that our customers like our services!

We try every day being better in what we do... hope you can come and visit us soon!

Regards,
Dolores Romero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Been to Nicaragua 9 times and always stay at Las Mercedes on the inbound as it is right across from the airport and if you are travelling light you can walk across. Just don't forget that the road is actually the Pan American Highway and pedestrian's do not have the right of way. At busy times its like playing that old video game "frogger".
The hotel is slowly improving and it has a lot of character. Has a 1930's flavour that I like. A maze of rooms with covered walkways, a couple of pools and lots of gardens. Pleasant staff and the front desk now is speaking english to make your check-in a little easier.
Breakfast is included and is fantastic. Those fresh little pastries are great but save room for the omelettes. Of course the coffee in Nicaragua is always great.
We sometimes stay at the Camino Real up the street for the outbound night and take the shuttle. Its a bit more modern and upscale but this last time we just stuck with Las Mercedes, enjoyed the breakfast and "froggered" our group across to the airport in the morning. Nice stay all around. Love the sound of the doves in the morning.

Room Tip: Most rooms have been renovated. I prefer something closer to the front as it can be a long walk if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is directly across the street from the airport. You can't get any closer than that.

The hotel is quite large, has two pools, one restaurant, a poolside snack bar and many other amenities. There is a breakfast buffet included in the price of your room, but if you have an early morning flight you likely won't be able to enjoy it.

The rooms are average and generally clean. I have stayed at the hotel a few times and on one occasion was in what (I assume) was the old part of the hotel. Those rooms are not nearly as nice others. They are a little rundown.

However, for the most part the rooms are satisfactory. Large beds, clean, cable tv, air-conditioning and full bathrooms. My one complaint about the bathroom is the water pressure which is non existent. In all of the rooms I've stayed in, it's never been enough pressure to rinse the soap out of my hair.

My other complaint about the hotel is the tile floor in the hallway between rooms. People leaving early morning for flight roll their luggage down the hallway and it makes a very loud clacking sound. It has woken me up each time I stayed there.

I do like the friendly staff and appreciate the convenience, but there are better options near by. This hotel would, unfortunately, be my second choice of where to say near the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel twice while in Nicaragua.The meals were fantastic and so nice to cool off in a beautiful Pool.It is in a very good location..directly across from the Airport.The Hotel offers a shuttle service to & from the Airport.This service is much better than trying to cross the road with your luggage.IWe would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your Entry dates as some get a 90 day Visa & others a 30 day Visa.That can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billard_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is so close to the airport that we easily walked across the road to catch our morning plane. I don't know why you would take a shuttle, it would definitely take much longer than the 2 minute walk!
The rooms were very nice, much fancier than we saw in the rest of the country. The pools are lovely. We ate at the bar which serves cheaper meals than the restaurant. However, this is clearly not a budget hotel by Central American standards.
I highly recommend this for a comfy rest between/before flights. Nice to unwind by the pool with a fancy drink.
We had a few hours in the afternoon, so we booked a tour at the hotel which consisted of a taxi driver taking us to the main sights in Managua and waiting for us till we were done. for a couple of hours anyway. Between four of us it was quite reasonable. At night we wanted a taxi to a restaurant we wanted to try. The hotel could organise this, but we halved the price by walking across the road to use one of the many taxis going to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#19 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Property: BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing