We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Location?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'd agree that probably the only good thing about this hotel is the fact that is located right across the airport. When you walk into the hotel, you feel like you just traveled back in time to the 1970's. ( they are going to remodel the lobby in 2013) The decor is tacky and awful and unwelcoming. The hotel grounds are nice, and have been, according to the staff, remodeled in 2011.
The rooms are like small cabins- cute, but nothing special. The rooms are bare, and give a feel of a motel 6. The pool area is probably the nicest thing about the hotel. However, the restaurant, yikes! I actually opted to eat gas station food. ( There's a gas station adjacent ) If you want to get out of the hotel, stay elsewhere, its about a 10 minute ride from civilization and a 20 minute ride from anything you'd want to see in MGA.
If you are on a layover, i'd stay here, simply because its a 20-30 min ride to the hotel area, but if you are here for anything else, skip it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same, so don't waist your time trying to find a "better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    243
    157
    66
    68
See reviews for
110
165
104
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Discourteous staff that were too busy with their friends to check anyone in to hotel. Just down hill from there. Hotel is in desperate need of cleaning, new mattresses, and updating. Room is advertised with breakfast gratis but is not served until the morning flights leave. So you can forget that. Only a few of the staff understand English so Spanish is your only option. This just another seedy flop house. The only saving grace is it is across the street from the airport. There are many better quality hotels to stay at for the same price or less. More then an overnight here is too many.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the front desk to avoid noise from the bars near the sides of the property and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MztrJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Managua hotels

Minneap
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had read that I should hail a cab from the Best Western rather than choosing one at the airport. There were no cabs at 12:30pm on a Saturday and the woman at the front desk refused to call one for me. (Maybe because I was just a lowly backpacker). So I trudged back to the airport and overpayed for a cap to the University Bus Station.

On the night before my flight home, I tried to stay here (just wanted a bed) but was again refused. "All booked up". Whatever...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Best Western Mercedes is right across the road from the airport making it a convenient place to stay if you are leaving on the early am flight to Big Corn Island. There is an open air restaurant and shuttle to airport if you don't want to cross the road. Beware of many taxi drivers trying to solicit your business as you walk from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdj248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
342 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

A great location (literally) within walking distance of the airport. The hotel is low key and not equipped with all of the latest and greatest amenities - but it is really a "layover" sort of location. We had an early departure and decided to stay the night to assure a couple of extra hours of sleep. We stayed in a decent (by international, budget traveler standards) room and had a decent night of rest. The rooms are bungalow style and all have a "motel" feel. I recommend staying here for "in and out" airport needs. Otherwise - going into Managua or on to other destinations for far nicer hotels.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was in a great location for a stay at the airport. Unfortunately we had to be up at 4am to catch a flight and there was a DJ or something on sight and it sounded as though we were sleeping directly over a dance club. The front desk staff was unfriendly/indifferent, and the shower was freezing. For $110 this stay wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very close to Managua airport. Huge shower, good size room. However our air conditioner leaked on top of the bed so half the bed was soaked during the night. But since we were only here the one night we didn’t bother about it. Ate dinner and breakfast and the food was very good. Staff friendly. Three free computers in a room off the lobby for everyone’s use. Pool was quite large although I did not use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.9 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#20 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Property: BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
Address: Km 11 5 Carretera Norte, Managua 000-046-0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing