We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, my room was really nice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well, my room was really nice...”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

An amazing hotel in an excellent location. Spent 2 nights here and had a great experience. The pool is fantastic, Karla at the front desk was great (I hope that was here name?), the beds are extremely comfortable and the building is generally very nice even for North American standards. I loved staying at this hotel.

Having said that, I only had a few issues that I need to point out. Internet for $40 USD? That's simply unacceptable. I pay $10 more than that per MONTH where I live. Charge me $120 USD for the room instead of $90 USD and include internet and breakfast and I'd be happy. I just hate being charged extra for basics. The second thing I experienced was that one of my traveling group's rooms wasn't ready even though he was given a key...the cleaners were still in there....no problem, we're easy going, but after an hour they were still there but were just wrapping up. So he gets his room and right away notices that his pillow cases are wet in the sink. Weird. He talked to the front desk and got it taken care of no problem.

The third and final thing I noticed was that it's not really safe to walk around the neighborhood at night. Understandable enough, but this was literally right around the corner from the front door of the hotel. We experienced one of the most intoxicated and aggressive panhandellers I've ever seen. Not the hotel's fault, but part of our experience none the less and I feel obligated not to sugar-coat my story for my fellow Trip Advisor users.

OK, one more thing...I rented a truck for over a week from Avis (the hotel has its own desk) and I babied that truck all week like it was my father's. When I brought it back I did the mandatory inspection as expected and everything checked out as expected. So as I'm paying, all of a sudden I'm asked to sign a damage waiver of some sort. They claim I broke the inside of the headlight. Seriously? I refuse to sign, and I take my SLR camera outside with some witnesses to take pictures of this alleged damage. I couldn't see anything...actually the headlights worked perfectly and there was no damage to the glass that could be seen. There was a tiny chip behind the glass, but it looked like whomever changed the headlight had taken a chunk out of it. Anyway, it was a bitter end to an otherwise incredible trip, just don't trust Avis. I'm going to take up the issue with Avis headquarters not Intercontinental.

Me personally, I had an amazing stay and I WOULD recommend this hotel even after all of the above stories.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LogicSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Revenue Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad to know you liked our property, in the future we are working on providing you the breakfast included in the rate and a better service with the internet use, also all our staffs are appropriately trained to provide our guest an excellent service during your stay and the security team is always there to guarantee the safety of our guests; we do apologize for the incidents happened during your stay. Remember, your suggestions are always welcome so we can work to give you the best service.

Let us be your hand and friend in your next visit to Nicaragua.

Regards,
Birmania Montiel
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    210
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
88
136
42
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Our experience this past week lived up to the TA reviews: Lovely room, terrific service, tasty meal (and the most attentive restaurant service we had during our entire week in Nicaragua). THE place to stay in Managua. Our only disappointment: Internet service was additional and pricey, especially compared to the FREE WIFI we had received in both Granada and Leon at high-end hotels. Paying extra for internet service, at a deluxe hotel, doesn't seem quite right. Other than this, the Intercontinental is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Revenue Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Real InterContinental Managua. We hope in the future provide a better service of the internet in order to fill your expectations.

On October, we will have a larger restaurant and as always characterized with the best service in Managua. Let us be your host for your next travel.

Regards,
Birmanian Montiel
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed there for a couple of nights. Staff was really nice. Food was good and the rooms very comfortable. Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftbianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Reservation Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your comments, we are so glad to know you liked our property, all our staffs are appropriately trained to provide our guest an excellent service during the stay.
We hope to be your host on your next visit to Nicaragua.

Regards

Birmania Montiel
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
266 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at the Real Intercontinental Metrocentro but as usual we upgrade the reservation to executive room and we had not any reason to claim. The room was ok the internet is included in the price and we had access to the business lobby.
Excellent and a good option to stay at Manágua

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Reservations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

We are so glad to know you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our stupendous services we have in our Club Intercontinental, We are looking forward to serve you in your next trip.

Regards

Birmania Montiel
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute of it. I even had a nice view over the city. The hotel comes across as very quite even though there are many guests. Unfortunately I didn’t try the fitness room (usually do) and the room service.
Pros:
Surprisingly good breakfast (expectations were low for this part of the world to make American and continental breakfast.)
Very good internet connection (also a bit unexpected) - cost 13 USD for a week
Rooms (standard) are very nice and spacious.
Good selection of American TV channels.
Restaurant - relative high level international cuisine
Good housekeeping
Good room temperature control
Cons:
English proficiency of staff

Except for the fact that most of staff (especially the waiters) had difficulty understanding English this was a very good stay.
This could be a five star hotel: With an upgrade in English skills and a more cozy and stylish lobby bar. I actually look forward to coming back. Oh and breakfast staff please don’t forget to put the plate with jam and honey on the outside tables. Had to ask for it very time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Reservations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments; we are taking note of them to make your next visit a better stayed.

We are working hard with our staff to serve you and exceed your expectations, because you worth it. Hope we can have you in your next visit.

Best Regards

Birmania Montiel
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The absolute best hotel in the country, more expensive but well worth it.
The staff, the food and room were just awsome. We were treated like royality and hated to leave. You can,t go wrong with this hotel.


Austin Texas

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justice1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Reservations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Sir.

We do really appreciate your comments; all our staffs are appropriately trained to provide our guest an excellent service during the stay. We are looking forward to serve you in your next stay with us. Remember that you’ll always be the first one here!

Regards

Birmania Montiel
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed one night here before starting our tour of Nicaragua. If you need to stay in Managua, then this an excellent choice. (Rates were just $80/night when we visited). The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Staff friendly and helpful.

Managua is not a tourist destination. There is a shopping mall adjacent the InterContinental as well the US embassy (i.e. McDonald's). Nearby (modern) gas stations have convenience stores for stocking up basics. Otherwise, not much to do here and we only felt marginally comfortable walking the streets nearby (despite Nicaragua's safe reputation).

5 stars are for the very best hotels only.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asterism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2804, Reservations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Real InterContinental as your Hotel, we are located right in the center of Managua, close by is the Metrocentro mall where you can find many options to buy, eat and have fun. We are close to banks, restaurants, Cathedral, University. Let us be your hand and friend in your next visit to Nicaragua.

Regards

Birmania Montiel
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Property: InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#3 Business Hotel in Managua
#3 Family Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally located in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to Metrocentro, the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 venues. At Metrocentro you will find boutiques, restaurants, bars, movie theaters and more. The hotel is only 6 miles away from Managua's international airport. The hotel offers many options for your entertainment; you can indulge yourself at Factory Steak & Lobster or enjoy a trendy ambiance and live music at NAU Sushi Lounge. Voltes restaurant is well-known for its buffet or if you prefer you can order a la carte. Customers can also unwind in the peaceful surroundings of our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Our hotel rooms are designed to ensure your best rest. All our rooms are equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high speed streaming internet access, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets, total blackout curtains, reading lamps, wide shower heads, mobile docking alarm clock, wide working desk, ergonomic chair, and more. For meetings and events the hotel offers nine modern and versatile event rooms with the latest in audiovisual technology. Our meeting space and ballrooms have the capacity to host events with up to 700 people. From the hotel it's easy to explore the city, you can visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing