We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing end to our stay in Nica!”
Review of El Porton Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Managua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Porton Verde
Ranked #27 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I ended our 5 6 day adventure in Nica at Mike's place and are so happy we did! It was a perfect ending, coming off an amazing stay in SJDS 4 nights prior to coming to Managua.

Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted by Samantha and offered water or fresh juice. Such a refreshing way to start our stay and we felt right at home. Our room wasn't ready (only because we ended up getting there 1+ before we said we would) but changed into our bathing suits and spent the next few hours enjoying the view and the pool, surrounded by good company. We were again offered a bowl of fresh fruit which was a delicious snack to hold us over until dinner.

Our dinner was prepared from scratch by Samantha and we devoured the baked chicken, rice and salad. We enjoyed all of the guests that night and had great dinner conversation about our travels and life experiences.

The room was just what we needed. Average size room, nothing over the top and just perfect for our last night in Nica. The shower pressure was good, the bed was comfortable and we got a great night's sleep. Just what we were looking for!

The farm provides some space to wander around and enjoy the city without feeling like you're even in Managua. Fresh fruit all around, rustling banana leaves and plenty of chickens to keep you company as you wander thru the property.

By now, you can probably tell that we highly recommend staying at El Porton Verde with Mike as your host. Great guy, super friendly, clean rooms, awesome view of Volcan Masaya, nice pool, and on and on. Mike even took us to the airport at 6am and that was a hugh bonus in terms of having piece of mind that we were taken care of there. We will definitely be back, sooner than later, and can't thank Mike enough for making our short but sweet stay at El Porton Verde such a memorable one!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hayley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Greetings Hayley and thank you for your kind review! We are always pleased to be able to provide a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere for folks, usually on their first and/or last nights in Nicaragua. We would like to think that our specialty "soft landing" service includes both incoming first-time visitors and old Nicaragua hands that appreciate the unique setting and ambiance that the farmstay offers its guests.

As we say in Nicaragua "Siempre estamos a sus ordenes!" (We are always ready to serve you!), so come on back down here real soon, y'hear?

Cheers, Mike @ Farmstay El Portón Verde, Managua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

My brother and i booked our last night in Nica here, he found the place on Airbnb, which is not exactly my kind of thing. BUT, i was pleasantly surprised with la finca. First of all, we were able to book the day before, which was great, and of course the price was fantastic. The views are amazing and they even have a pool. We had to stay in a room that shared a bath (which again, is not my kind of thing) but this was a complete non-issue. Mike was very kind, and accommodating...for example, my brother woke up late for breakfast and they still made him a plate. Mike's Nica family is so sweet and will love to allow you to practice your Spanish. It is a bit difficult to get to if you're taking a taxi, but Mike is available most of time for pick ups and drop offs. The food was great as well, just like in a traditional Nica house! Mike also is really helpful if this is your first stop in Nica as well as your first time in the country (it was not our's, but was for another group staying there), like explaining the transit system and getting you to exactly where you need to be. All in all we really enjoyed our time staying at La finca porton verde and will return next year!

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Akraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Mike was a fantastic host. He met us at the airport, took us on a thrilling ride through town to the B&B and even offered us a beer to welcome us to Managua. In the morning Juana had prepared a delicious breakfast. The remainder of our trip was to be in Pochomil, so the next morning, he took us to the grocery store and helped us shop. He also took us to exchange currency, and then drove us to Pochomil. On our last day, Mike came & picked us up in Pochomil. For a small fee, Mike will take you on just about any tour that you'd like. We had him take us to Grenada and he showed us the sights around town. On the way back to Managua, Mike took us to see the volcano. During all the driving, Mike was the perfect tour guide as he told us all about the different areas we went through as well as colorful stories of his time in Nicaragua. Juana had a chicken dinner ready for us when we arrived at the farm that evening. We spent one more night at the Farmstay and left for home early the next morning. We certainly enjoyed both our stay at the farm and our time with Mike. We felt as if we were staying with an old friend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaugustaperangusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Wow, what can I say but thank you for your wonderful review! I certainly enjoyed hosting you all and it was great to get to know the whole family. It is so nice to have guests with whom one just "clicks" right away and that was definitely the case with you and your visit to Nicaragua. It was a lot of fun and I hope you do it again soon!

Cheers, Mike @ Farmstay El Porton Verde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Mike, the US American owner starts out and continues to treat his guests like favored friends. He met us at the airport without a hassle and then kindly took us to a supermarket to put in some supplies into the apartment of his that we are renting. He didn't just drop us off, but went in with us to help orient us to the layout of the store.

The apartment was excellent with a bedroom, bath and separate kitchen. We could have walked his farm, but the pool was right outside our door. We became pool slugs for most of our time there. Mike arranged for his cook to prepare our dinners too for a fee so low, we couldn't have eaten out for that amount. Each night, it was abundant and delicious. Breakfast, which was included in the rental, was just as good.

For an additional fee, Mike toured us around Managua and let us loose to see the museum, but after collecting us, took us to a park we would not have discovered on our own. We tried some Nicaraguan treats we would not have known about otherwise.

We had a great time. The apartment is an excellent value. The views are beautiful.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but the apartment is really comfortable for a couple to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Greetings BudaBaB: Thank you for your kind review of the Farmstay. I really, really, really appreciate it! I certainly enjoyed hosting you and hope that you choose to visiting Nicaragua and Farmstay El Porton Verde again real soon.
Cheers, Mike @ Farmstay El Porton Verde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Mike's El Porton Verde is a great launching pad for your Nica adventure. Mike picked our family up from the airport and gave us our first day's tour of Masaya and San Juan del Oriente. After that we felt comfortable moving around using expressos. Each day we would come home from our amazing adventures to find a cool pool and cold drinks waiting for us. Juana will cook amazing breakfasts and the occasional dinner. Mike will help you get set with local currency, a SIM for your phone, and the best places to pick up art and cigars. Whatever the need Mike is the man.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlaskaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at the end of the day at Managua airport. As arranged for Mike meet us there. We rented a car and followed Mike back to his place. Flawless. Mike mentioned relatives had been over that day and generously made us dinner. We went to bed early and slept well. Breakfast was plentiful and an excellent start to the day. Mike accompanied and guided us Pricesmart where we stocked up for our stay at the beach. We dropped Mike where he wanted and headed off.

Staying at El Porton Verde was one of the smartest things we did on this trip. It made our arrival easy, stress-free and a pleasure.

Mike is an extremely helpful, very interesting guy with a wealth of experience far removed from that of many people. His place is somewhat rustic, very clean, safe and quiet. It is not the Dallas Marriott, but in our opinion, 100 times better. We will make staying at El Porton Verde an essential element of our arrival and departure from Managua on every future trip.

Please ask Mike for my contact information if you would like any further details regarding our experience and expectations about El Porton Verde. I'll be happy to talk or email with you.

Room Tip: Book the best available room, book every service you might want or need. You will get more than you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank johnpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well, my stay with you was great and I thoroughly enjoyed it, despite the "adventures" I had including torrential rains and double lightning strikes which I don´t blame you for (honest).

Joking apart, thank you for the personal attention during my stay and congratulations on a great place. Loved the walk through the plantation with my daughter seeing the wildlife. Waking up in the morning to that amazing dawn chorus of wildlife was worth the inconvenience of negotiating the access with Managuan taxi drivers!

To anybody reading this, don´t think twice if you want a laid back place to stay at with the most amazing location so close to Managua (about 15 mins by taxi to the centre). Just be careful if you come in the rainy season as it is difficult to get to when there´s a downpour.

Mike, for my return, any chance of that bolt on the mosquito screen so I can sleep with the door open? Thanks and take care!

Room Tip: Ask for the appartment in the middle, it´s the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#10 of 50 in Managua
418 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#46 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
7.1 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
6.1 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Porton Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Porton Verde

Address: Carretera a Masaya, km 10.5, del Centro Escolar San Antonio Sur, 1 cuadra al Sur, 350 metros al Oeste | Callejon de los Briones, Finca El Porton Verde, Managua 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and thanks for your inquiry about El Porton Verde, Managua. Room offerings include: deluxe pool front apartment, quad bunk bed rooms, and en-suite rooms with private bath. As an alternative to the big chain hotels in hot and dirty downtown Managua, we offer a very comfortable and quiet bed and breakfast ambiance that lovers of quality lodgings with an eco-tourism aspect are finding very attractive. As we say here at the farm, "We are located in Managua, but being here feels like a world away..." We are located approximately 25 minutes drive from the airport and provide transportation to and from MGA airport. However, we are a small farm in the hills at 1,000 feet of elevation with tremendous views towards Masaya Volcano and the local mountains, so the ambiance is anything but what you will find in the city center. We are perfect for that first night and last night accomodations, especially since we offer airport transportation and local tours. If you want a restful night in a cooler and quieter environment than in the "real Managua" then think about booking with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing