We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Porton Verde
Nearby Hotels
$117
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$93
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
$223
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel HEX(Managua)
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$119
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mozonte(Managua)(Great Value!)
$62
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
37
4
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
4
1
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the best and most peaceful stay I had in nicaragua. Mike and Miranda were awesome hosts that took the the best of care of us and help us see some of the sites in managua. The view of the mountains and volcano is completely breathtaking from the back porch and the pool definitely takes the relaxation to the next level. They have hot water and the rooms are the best of quiality that I have seen in nicaragua and the breakfast is outstanding! We are definitely looking foward to staying with them again and I would highly reccommend your stay with them over anyone else in nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We were thrilled to host Justin and his girlfriend, as he was a referral from one of our first guests who is now a very good friend and lives down at the beach in San Juan del Sur.

The main reason that it was great hosting Justin is that he is an active member of the Armed Forces and his trip to Nicaragua was his last fun thing to do before being deployed to Afghanistan. God bless and come back to us safe and sound!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had the most relaxing two days. We do live in country and wanted something special for our anniversary & we found it. Beautiful one bedroom apartment--views out of a story book. They have a pool you can do laps or just relax. Great food and they treat you like family-- We will go and stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyJane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for the nice review RandyJane. We were so honored that you and Charles decided to spend your wedding anniversary at our place. Even for people who live elsewhere in Nicaragua, they need a break now and again and Miranda and I were certainly happy to make that happen for you. Also, I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary dinner at the restaurant Azul at the Hotel Contempo. It is great that we have such a fine French chef so close by. Thanks again and looking forward to the next time you come and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, very courteous and friendly. Mike is American, and wife Miranda is Nicaraguan. Miranda speaks excellent English. They picked me up at the airport at 1:00 at night, took me to their B&B, served me a late-night snack and a delicious breakfast the next day, and drove me to Granada early the next morning. The guest accomodations were clean, beautiful, and very comfortable. I will definitely use them again the next time I travel to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwaine_Cawthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

El Porton Verde was a great place to transition from Ometepe. Hard to believe one is actually in Managua. What a beautiful spot! Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, served a delicious home-cooked dinner and provided (very)early am transport to the airport. Todo tranquilo!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the apartment suite if available
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Mike and Miranda are so friendly. I showed up unannounced +1 and they treated us like they were expecting us. Beautiful rooms, grounds and great Wifi. Had a great convo over dinner with M&M and another guest. Mike is actually farming and doing really cool things. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgroJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews