We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts”
Review of El Porton Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Managua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Porton Verde
Ranked #27 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, very courteous and friendly. Mike is American, and wife Miranda is Nicaraguan. Miranda speaks excellent English. They picked me up at the airport at 1:00 at night, took me to their B&B, served me a late-night snack and a delicious breakfast the next day, and drove me to Granada early the next morning. The guest accomodations were clean, beautiful, and very comfortable. I will definitely use them again the next time I travel to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwaine_Cawthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

El Porton Verde was a great place to transition from Ometepe. Hard to believe one is actually in Managua. What a beautiful spot! Mike and Miranda are wonderful hosts, served a delicious home-cooked dinner and provided (very)early am transport to the airport. Todo tranquilo!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the apartment suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Mike and Miranda are so friendly. I showed up unannounced +1 and they treated us like they were expecting us. Beautiful rooms, grounds and great Wifi. Had a great convo over dinner with M&M and another guest. Mike is actually farming and doing really cool things. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgroJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have traveled all over the world, stayed at B&B's in a number of countries. El Porton Verde was the best accomidations I have ever had! The Hosts are wonderful people and did everything to make sure our needs were met. The meals were outstanding. The pool crystal clear. The rooms are great! You would be remiss if you did not stay at El Porton Verde when traveling to Nicaragua.
I can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: The best room is the apartment. You really can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A stay at El Porton Verde was the smartest thing we did while in Nicaragua. We are looking forward to our next trip that will definitely include another stay here. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floor, the views are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank specalkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avons ete surclasse dans un appartement mais ce n etait pas mieux qu une chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Rene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elportonverde, Owner at El Porton Verde, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
420 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#46 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
7.1 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
6.1 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Porton Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Porton Verde

Address: Carretera a Masaya, km 10.5, del Centro Escolar San Antonio Sur, 1 cuadra al Sur, 350 metros al Oeste | Callejon de los Briones, Finca El Porton Verde, Managua 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and thanks for your inquiry about El Porton Verde, Managua. Room offerings include: deluxe pool front apartment, quad bunk bed rooms, and en-suite rooms with private bath. As an alternative to the big chain hotels in hot and dirty downtown Managua, we offer a very comfortable and quiet bed and breakfast ambiance that lovers of quality lodgings with an eco-tourism aspect are finding very attractive. As we say here at the farm, "We are located in Managua, but being here feels like a world away..." We are located approximately 25 minutes drive from the airport and provide transportation to and from MGA airport. However, we are a small farm in the hills at 1,000 feet of elevation with tremendous views towards Masaya Volcano and the local mountains, so the ambiance is anything but what you will find in the city center. We are perfect for that first night and last night accomodations, especially since we offer airport transportation and local tours. If you want a restful night in a cooler and quieter environment than in the "real Managua" then think about booking with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing