We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to rest after a long flight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Managua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Mapachines Terraza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 76 Managua B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to rest after a long flight”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A great place to stop for a night after our long flight from the UK. Breakfast was really good, pancakes, toast, fruit and lots of coffee. We stayed just one night before taking the bus out of Managua, short taxi ride to the bus station. Friendly owners, has AC, car transfer from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKGirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in January, as a stopover before our flight out of Managua. As mentioned in other reviews, it is small and very personal. The rooms is modern and spotless with TV etc, and the fattest mattress we slept on in the whole of Nicaragua! But the real gems are the family that run the place - it really does feel like you are visiting friends, they are so helpful and welcoming. The place is extremely secure, with obligatory security guard on watch. The garden area is lovely, great pace to sit and let time pass by!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Finding Los Mapachines and Don Octavio (The Owner), was the best thing that could happen to me during my trip to Managua!
They have only three rooms to rent in a big house, where the family actually lives. The Owners attend you and serve you as they were having friends visiting them for a while! Men and wife are Architects, so, the place is beautiful! Very clean, AC, Hot Water, cable TV, etc. They prepare the BEST homemade breakfast in Managua!
They are so helpful, so nice, so gentle!! You should visit them if you ever go to Managua!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This three-room architect-designed and family-operated bed and breakfast is a charming oasis in an otherwise dull and dirty city. The owners pay great attention to detail, from the very tasteful décor to the fresh water, clean towels, sumptuous breakfast, and generous help with transportation and other arrangements. The common area is bright and inviting, and the small pool at the back is perfect for cooling down on a hot day. We had only booked two nights, heeding guidebook warnings that there was not much for tourists to see and do in Managua – but we would have been happy to stay longer just to enjoy this wonderful space, leaving only for dinner at La Curva just down the street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I personally feel nicaragua is one of the best kept secrets in the travel world. This country is loaded with friendly people and culture. It is a very convenient and affordable vacation experience . On that note my favorite hotel in managua is Los mapachines. It is located in a safe area of managua located 20 minutes from the airport. The rooms are very nice and fairly new. it is a small family run hotel with a staff so friendly you will feel like part of the family. The prices are pretty friendly as well . because it is a family run hotel there are only 3 rooms so it isn't overcrowded and loaded with other travelers. If i am staying in managua i am staying at los mapachines !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I visited Managua for the first time on last February. I stayed in Los Mapachines for 3 nights, and when i visit Managua, i will definitely go back to this place. Its a small & private place. The rooms are great, love the space and furniture, and more than anything the cleanliness of everything in the room, and the good sleep i had, rooms are very silent.

It has a lot of green areas, i got to wake up with the sound of birds in the center on the city wich really did surprise me, there's a pool that definetely helps when it gets hot. One thing that you should not miss are breakfast! A lot to eat and delicious!

I think this is a good choice if you're a tourist, and also if you're traveling with you family. Its run by their owners, very friendly people, they were a lot of help to me since my spanish isnt the best, and didnt know the place at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Montserrat
#49 of 51 in Managua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion Teodolinda
Mansion Teodolinda
#17 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europeo
Hotel Europeo
#33 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valerie
Hotel Valerie
#13 of 76 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mapachines Terraza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mapachines Terraza Hotel

Property: Los Mapachines Terraza Hotel
Address: Hosp. Militar 1c. al Lago 1/2c. abajo | Bolonia, Managua 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small family owned lodging, that offers you a good option for your stay in Managua. Has a great location near restaurants, shopping centers, movie theaters, grocery stores, drugstores. Personalized service its always delivered to our guests. English and French spoken by our staff. Los Mapachines Terraza Hotel is situated in the center of Managua, near shopping malls, cinemas, restaurants, supermarkets, embassies, travel agencies, hospitals, pharmacies, banks and bars. The establishment has a Nicaraguan family environment and a national flavor in its kitchen. Designed by the architect Octavio Molina, it recovers and renews colonial architecture's characteristics by having..., for example, wide gardens connected with each other through halls with big windows. This characteristic accomplish to mix exteriors and interiors areas which, at the same time, keep the clientele's privacy concerning the street areas. In addition, clients can enjoy snacks and drinks at the hotel's cafeteria which is located in its terrace-balcony. The bedrooms of the hotel are comfortable and have and individual decoration, perfect for pleasure or business trips. It also offers transportation from the airport to the hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing