We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Food”

Cocina de Dona Haydee
Ranked #9 of 356 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nicaraguan traditional food
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had lunch with some colleagues from Nicaragua and they recommended this place due to its down home local food. Service was very good and timely, the menus are in Spanish and they also have English Menus. I had the pork with beans and rice, Cole slaw and fried plantain chips. Everyone's meal looked delicious. This place is worth checking out if your in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    158
    56
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very recommendable”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I did not have a good experience eating in this restaurant (medically). The food is average, the service is not so bad, but I'm not coming back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Service is good and traditional Nica food is always delicious no matter what you choose. Great atmosphere with live music and outdoor seating. Very family friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pdx_treehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very Good Nicaraguan Dinner”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was staying at the Hilton up the road so I came over here for dinner. Annoyingly, the street it's on is a one way so I had to park a little down the road by the Pharroh's Casino. The restaurant is very nice with a lot of outdoor seating and the waitstaff, especially the women, wear traditional clothing. I had a large steak which came with two sides and a salad and two beers for $14 (God bless Nicaragua). Everything was very tasty and the service was quite good. I'd definitely come back. Note: the have both English and Spanish menus.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Down the road from Casa Naranja”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was staying at Hotel Casa Naranja and asked my driver about any nearby restaurants within walking distance.
He pointed out the restaurant and said it was "typico Nicaraguan food".
I must say that it was a great choice.
The restaurant is only a couple blocks away from the hotel.
The food was good.
I had not read any other prior reviews but I thought it was close by and I didn't want to eat at the hotel.
I ate outdoors on the patio. A cool breeze, some Tona's along with good food made the evening quite pleasant.
Everyone there seemed to be locals and were enjoying themselves.
It was fun people watching on the patio.
The bill for my meal was under $20.00 US dollars.
I am glad that the driver recommended the restaurant.
I would recommend it to other fellow trip advisor readers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FortWorthJeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocina de Dona Haydee also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Cocina de Dona Haydee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing