We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, cheap, what you pay for”
Review of Hotel El Gueguense

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Gueguense
Ranked #29 of 80 Managua B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Centrally located, clean, working air conditioners and internet, and hot water, beds reasonably comfortable but had to ask for towels. No external facing windows in the rooms but each quite competently painted after a province or city in Nicaragua. Some limited but safe parking - the hotel is opposite Daniel Ortega's house and shares the security!

Faults were a very poor breakfast - 2 tablespoons of dry gallo pinto and a tablespoon of even more dried egg, no juice or fruit. We ended up breakfasting at the many small comedores nearby. And when we hired a car and parked it outside the hotel, they made us pay up the night before, presumably in case we did an early morning runner. Although the service was friendly, they need to trust their customers a tad more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We call it "voice to voice" was one of the ways the owner's son described Nicaraguans behavior. He was a law student spending time at the hotel to help it gain in popularity and tourist trade. The previous night when we approached the desk person for a room, it was hectic as the price was not what the taxi man had us believing, so negotiations began. What a pleasant awakening when I came out to the lobby in the morning to be engaged with the son. He spoke English, was helpful and pleasant getting coffee for me and the computer set up for my use. He directed me to the shopping area while my travel partner was using the WIFI to do his blog. I noticed that the building had many murals painted. I had the son in communication about that, which started a long dialogue! When I walked back to the hotel, the street was blocked off! there was a march and discord being exhibited to my amazement because they would not allow me to pass. Once I showed the police the hotel card and made them understand my need to cross! Later, once my friend was done blogging, the son was champion enough to take us in his car to the bus station without taking a coin from us! He wants his hotel and country to be better known, to have a better reputation, and was more interested in us getting to where we needed to be on time, than the few coins he could have taken from us. I applaude him, and say.....go there! It is in the neighborhood where the President lives, so it is safe and pleasant. Water was an issue, but due to the country being rationed on it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed on the Gueguense 3 times, ( one time for 10 days) and every time I had a very pleasant experience.
I love the decoration of the rooms, all-different and all with Nicaraguan themes and colors,total fun vibe!!
The Hotel is clean, safe, good value and professional staff always handy.
Definitively recommend it if you are in Managua
AZ

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nothing really wrong with the hotel, but it's kind of in the middle of nothing. It's outside the housing community where the President lives, so there are a bunch of police everywhere. Sometimes they close the road because the President is coming or going so you have to drive all around to get back in. Even though there are a bunch of police, it's still not the best neighborhood.

The hotel itself is okay, a typical central american hotel. Not much to do, ok for a sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honey40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this lovely small hotel in Managua. I can't imagine why I would stay anywhere else--the staff were very accommodating, the entire hotel was painted in beautiful murals depicting aspects of Nicaraguan life, each room painted to represent a particular town/region. The rooms were very clean, beds comfy, the a/c functional, the hot water was hot (though subject to Managua's water pressure issues). We ate a decent breakfast there, nothing special, but a very reasonable value. The hotel is within easy--and safe--walking distance of at least two good restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russchapter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and i stayed at this very nice hotel for 2 nights. Upon our arrival they were very attentive to us. They gave us a lovely room with beautiful murals on the walls. The beds are comfortable. the bathroom fixtures were all new. The hotel is centrally located right behind the President's palace.(very secure) Luis the manager, speaks perfect English and attended to our every need.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rollindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015
Thank たびじん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#8 of 50 in Managua
425 reviews
2.8 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#26 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#46 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
342 reviews
29.2 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Gueguense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Gueguense

Address: West side from Casa Presidencial | Montoya Statue 1 and 1/2 Block to the South, Managua 226, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Managua
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Gueguense 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Gueguense, is a cultural hotel that offers to our guests and friends a comfortable, warmly and relaxing atmosphere, its special authenticity is to show brush-strokes of the great wealth of our traditions, folklore and idiosyncrasy that is representative of the Nicaraguans people.El Gueguense is an ideal hotel in Managua for travelers who like to appreciate and enjoy the wealth that our country offers, counts on excellent personnel highly trained, so we can assist you with a customized attention, El Gueguense Hotel offer our hospitality to make you feel a new experience in lodging. Among the services we offer there are the succulent breakfasts of courtesy, hot water, A/C, TV Cable, Wi-Fi Internet, Security, Transfer airport-hotel-airport, restaurant service, laundry, private parking, customized attention, ample conference-meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Gueguense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing