We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wonderful events”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ola Verde

Ola Verde
Ranked #6 of 327 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our dishes are created to be deliciously healthy, are made with respect for local growers, food ecology, and to showcase local ingredients. We offer vegetarian and meat, fish, chicken options. Our staff are well-paid and respected for their professionalism. Mon-Saturday 7 am - 11 pm. Sunday 8am - 9 pm. We have been in business in Managua since 2003. Proceeds from the restaurant are used to help the Ola Verde Foundation (Fundación Ola Verde), a local NGO that designs educational materials about making consumer food habits healthier using natural locally produced ingredients. We have recently remodeled the interior terrace, now called the Secret Garden, and usually have musicians or performing artists for cultural nights on weekends. Please check facebook for program information.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fresh ingredients, great menu and I love that they plan events at this restaurant. Truly will run and great wait staff. I go there regularly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tleary1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    54
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“healthy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

the owner is always there. Food is excellent, health oriented, different types of salad and healthy desserts, Plus they have a small store in house where you can buy organic produce at very good prices

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ola Verde has tons of great vegetarian options but they also really know how to cook a steak. Overall, always a good choice!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J-and-K-on-Vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was surprised with the excellent service by the staff but even more when more surprised when I met the owner who talked to my brother and me for 15 minutes in the small store the restaurant runs as a "Wholesome Foods" store. We looked like bums and were still treated with respect, although Ola Verde is a little more upscale than a naive traveler might expect;but, in the best way possible.
I will be coming back anytime I am in Managua. My vegetarian brother who has been to dozens of vegetarian restaurants abroad, rates this as the best vegetarian restaurant that he has ever been to, including the USA. They also have the best steak outside of Argentina.....
So, the entrees are priced about what one would pay at Apple Bee's or TGIF back in the states which is a little higher than other restaurants in the neighborhood; however, none of the food is the crap that the vast majority of tourists will eat at the malls here in Managua. You will pay 7 bucks for crap chicken at one of the malls in town or you could take a two dollar taxi to an excellent restaurant and pay 10 bucks for a meal that you can talk about for the next few weeks of traveling.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tntrav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“vegetarian delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great vegetarian and organic offerings. They have some meat products but why bother?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola Verde also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Ola Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing