We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy in the land of junk food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ola Verde

Ola Verde
Ranked #6 of 330 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our dishes are created to be deliciously healthy, are made with respect for local growers, food ecology, and to showcase local ingredients. We offer vegetarian and meat, fish, chicken options. Our staff are well-paid and respected for their professionalism. Mon-Saturday 7 am - 11 pm. Sunday 8am - 9 pm. We have been in business in Managua since 2003. Proceeds from the restaurant are used to help the Ola Verde Foundation (Fundación Ola Verde), a local NGO that designs educational materials about making consumer food habits healthier using natural locally produced ingredients. We have recently remodeled the interior terrace, now called the Secret Garden, and usually have musicians or performing artists for cultural nights on weekends. Please check facebook for program information.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Healthy in the land of junk food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

After enduring things like crispy fried banana chips passing as food, going to the Ola Verde and getting tofu and whole grain rice is a dream come true. That being said, the food tastes good and it's worth a visit, but it isn't an exceptional culinary experience.

The service is excellent (also sadly lacking in most nicaraguan restaurants).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthBernSwitzerland, Owner at Ola Verde, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Glad you came to our new location and took the time to review your dining experience. Our aim is to offer deliciously healthy dishes using local ingredients at affordable prices. Most of our clients are very happy, but sounds like you would have liked yours to be a bit more delicious. We would like you to know we have 2 tofu dishes which will be added to our new menu (marinated tofu and tofu stroganoff with fresh mushrooms) and hope you will come back to try these new options. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    54
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The service is always great and friendly. Food has never failed, a good, healthy, relaxing food alternative in Managua

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This place is an alternative menu to the typical steak dishes. The food is diverse and delicious. The building is as cool as the owner and was designed to be energy efficient with as many local products as possible. The food reflects the focus of being good to our mother earth all the while not lacking flavor nor creativity.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Most imaginative restaurant in Managua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Have visited the new Ola Verde twice since its January opening and been exceptionally pleased each visit. (Once for dinner and once for brunch). Owner prepares extraordinary food in a beautiful atmosphere using wonderful herbs and spices and the best quality meatts and produce. What a wonderful addition to the Managua dining scene!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnthetraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I was a little iffy about eating here at first because i am 17, and usually don't go for super healthy food. I got the hamburger. OH MY GOSH. seriously the best hamburger i have ever had! And it was good for me too! my family loved and i loved it so much we had to go twice! I would most definitely recommend this to anyone who is in Managua looking for a place to eat. The service was good, the food was excellent, and when you're finished you can have some sweet dessert! I wish we had one of these in America!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola Verde also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Ola Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing