We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Granada Nicaragua
Level Contributor
290 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Restaurant is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is only for restaurant and the lobby and garden area.

Great service and very well prepared food. Nice menus…mix of typical and not so Nica! Good selection of beef and seafood. Price is not cheap, but not bad.

Has a classy feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    46
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
74
16
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

A great oasis in Managua. Arrived late and the hotel collected us from the airport. Great rooms, very helpful staff, nice restaurant and bar. We had late drinks and food despite the hour. Definitely worthwhile!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ADH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Upon first arrival at Managua airport, we called for shuttle to hotel and they arrived shortly afterward. Thank goodness we didn't have to drive ourselves as the roads at night are confusing and not well lit. The room was nice but extremely hot. The staff escorting us to the room turned on the AC to begin cooling the room, while we went to the bar for refreshment. The AC never cooled the room below 78 degrees, but at 3am it was too late to call and do anything about it. Very nice breakfast, helpful staff who assisted with getting a local sim chip for telephone by shuttling us to a nearby phone store, but the return shuttle to the airport to pick up our rental car during daylight hours was NOT complimentary, as we expected from reading previous reviews. The front desk radioed the driver to charge us for the ride. $20. Not sure we would stay again for a short overnight, because of the distance from the airport. Might be nice for several days stay away from the noise and crowds of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelerExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I travel to Nicaragua often for work and always just have an overnight in Managua at the beginning and end of the trip. I've stayed at Contempo several times and will continue to do so. Although it is a bit off the beaten path - about a half hour from the airport - the hotel provides transportation to and from the airport for no additional charge. The hotel atmosphere is vibrant and modern and the restaurant has really good food. The service has always been great. During my last trip, my husband was craving Pizza Hut (important note - we had spent the last week in a very rural area of the country with no hot water, limited connection to phone or internet, unpredictable electricity, etc.) and the front desk person helped me find a way to get him exactly what he was craving even though Pizza Hut originally said they did not deliver to this area of the city. My husband (and by association me) will always be indebted to them for filling that craving!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NoraPReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I planned a destination wedding at Contempo in Managua. The hotel event coordinator, Carlos Perez, was amazing! He planned my entire wedding, and went above and beyond to make my day memorable. He met with me via Skype several times, and ensured my vision was executed impeccably. My guests were really impressed, especially with the surprise FIREWORK SHOW! The ballroom was decorated tastefully, the food was AMAZING, and the music was super fun. The catering staff lead, Mrs. Juanita, made the best Sangria, Mojitos, and Margaritas as my wedding cocktails. Twenty-five of my U.S. guests stayed at Contempo for an extended period of time. The hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. The hotel’s chef is French, and the food was to die for. The beef Carpaccio was the best Carpaccio I’ve ever had (I’ve travelled throughout Europe). Most of my guests had never travelled to Nicaragua. The hotel was very accommodating during the booking of rooms and throughout my guests’ entire stay. My wedding was a super fun, lively wedding. The food was amazing, and my guests were ecstatic about their stay at Contempo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suiza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a great residential neighborhood with easy access to the road to Masaya and Granada. It's also easily accessible from the airport. The staff is very service oriented and accommodating. The restaurant provided a good variety of options but, there were no stand outs. The room (4 Colonial) was lacking. The ceiling was leaking, the decor was not as contemporary as I saw in pictures on TA or the website and the shower racks were rusting and required attention. It's not a bad hotel bud it did not meet my expectations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bertholet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the food is delicious and the employees are friendly and helpful. The airport car service is prompt and runs on your schedule not a pre-set schedule, and the drivers are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
5.8 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
28.8 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing