We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good intentions, bad room”
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good intentions, bad room”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Comtempo as a "layover' from San Juan del Sur back to Managua airport. The hotel is trying too hard to be uber-design. We were given room 3 which I believe to be the worse room. The shower stall was in the room, which was okay since I was traveling with my husband. The shower itself was horrible. If you didn't know which way to turn the dial on the shower the shower had spouted water from the middle heads in the stall. The water went "through" the shower as it was the shower walls weren't sealed. We had water everywhere. There was no place to hang the towels. The lighting fixtures are horribly designed - bad florescent overhead lighting hidden in ceiling. The bad room door was translucent so there is absolutely no privacy for anyone going to the bathroom. We went to the pool area which had construction so not at all relaxing. The AC made a rattling loud noise every 20 minutes.

Room #3 was really fell like a design jail cell. We should have asked to change rooms but we were so tired from the traveling.

Only thing good was the service, our taxi driver and dinner. I would not recommend Hotel Contempo.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    51
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
79
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westchester county, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night in Managua before a flight out the next day and Hotel Contempo looked like an interesting choice. Unlike an earlier experience we had in Nicaragua where the reviews were nothing like the actual experience, Hotel Contempo lived up to all of its excellent reviews. The service is consistently friendly and excellent, from the front desk to the waitstaff to the car attendants. It is a small hotel but the grounds are well manicured and really do seem like an oasis from the noise of Managua. We were a little concerned about driving ourselves to the airport in a rental given the lack of street signs in Nicaragua but the ride was straightforward and took only about 15 minutes. We had 2 rooms, Caribbean and Volcano.....both were nice butt Volcano had a shower in the bedroom which was a little quirky. Overall we had a wonderful night and a great dinner at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You first realize how amazing this place in at the point of check in. Instead of checking in at the lobby there is an employee greeting you with your information, they take your bags, and escort you to your room. The rooms are incredible , especially if you are with a romantic partner as the room is equipped with an above ground bath tub and large shower with glass doors. The beds are comfortable, quiet and very clean. the staff is amazing as well s the breakfast. They have a nice property and very close to the city.....20 minutes by taxi. Great place if you are on your way to Granada..

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I just left the hotel after a repeat stay and I am already planning my return. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We brought in mangos that were given to us. They expertly cut them for our breakfast (no extra fee) and later in the day made mango coladas for us. I don't speak much Spanish, but the hotel staff was so patient. Looking forward to a third stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmkaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely a great place to relax. I was only there for 3 days and Hotel Contempo sure made a pleasant stay. The room was really comfortable, clean and contemporary. Everyone was absolutely helpful and nice. From the gentleman who picked me up from the airport to the room service. Ah! Don’t miss out on the breakfast they have traditional “Gallopinto” (rice and beans) to delicious fresh fruit and granola.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The airport pickup and dropoff went smooth, courteous driver in a modern car. And the room and hotel were very nicely kept, even if the location was a bit removed. As far as dinner and breakfast- both were spectacular. Will be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just visit this Hotel again this weekend, as we walk in the Hotel you can see the remarkable changes that they just did, for example, We have a lovely check in in the "Volcano" Room, everybody on the Hotel already know that we are arriving, take a moment to read this, trust me after this you would like to stay in this hotel.
We Arrive on Friday around 2 or 3 pm, at the door, they now my name, and walk us to the room, this is the Volcano Room, it is a really nice room asi you can see on the pictures, made the checking then we left the hotel, we arrive late that night around 10.30pm unfortunately they dont have room service at that time, but what a surprise from the Front Desk they call us and told that if we want they can send the driver to get any food that we want from any close restaurant, well we take the word but we decide around 11.30pm so everything was close, not a problem, the service is great, the next day we wake up and have the must wonderfull breakfast Nicaraguan Style, we made some changes to the menu (My Fiancee all the time does that) but not a problem they didt!
The second day we change the room, we like to change the room and there is not a problem we move to room number 8 (El Lago i think) This is another great experience, excellent room also, i got these day Room Service ! the BEST Beef Sandwich ever ! so i stay at the hotel working that night around 6pm the Front Desk Call me and tell me if that i want that the driver park my car ! What a great service ! they did that, the bed was perfect, really a good night, there is a Issue with the TV Signal but i think is form the Cable Company not the Hotel.
Next Day, about to leave the hotel, but a great Breakfast again (i have again the nicaraguan) it really was a great stay, everybody is commited to make this hotel the best destination in Managua.
I will come back for sure !

Room Tip: They have "theme" rooms, so any room that you pick it is just a great experience !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#11 of 50 in Managua
377 reviews
4.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
434 reviews
5.8 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
593 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing