We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern boutique hotel with superior service”
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel with superior service”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Dont be swayed by the rutted road which takes you here off the main highway. This is a lovely modern hotel across the street from a gated community with mega mansions.. We arrived on New Years Eve to a big party but with the air conditioner and the fan, our room was surprisingly quiet. It seems like each of the rooms has a theme, ours is #3- Volcan (volcano), as evidenced by a volcanic rock wall and hewn stone sink. The shower is a glassed in chamber (beam me up) which sits in front of the stone wall and below a skylight. The hotel also has a van and they will drive you to any spots in town. We went to La Galleria on NYE which was a great spot to people watch, dance to live music and imbibe the national rum, Flor de Cana. If you have time, take a dip in the hotel's lovely lap pool. Our breakfast here was the best in Nicaragua- eggs Benedict and the typical Nica breakfast, lovely presentation, fresh and delicious. Juices are made fresh, fruit is first puréed in a blender then strained.
The owner of the hotel was kind enough to also arrange our transfer to the Aqua Wellness Resort near Playa Gigante in the hotel's new and comfortable Toyota Hillux at a very fair and competive rate. It definitely is worth using the hotel's vehicles for peace of mind. In Granada, we had a private guide and dealt with 2 flat tires in one day! (based on hearsay, this is not an uncommon experience)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithrelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    46
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
35
77
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Came for the New Years party with each ticket costing $100--a princely sum for Managua. Decided to see if there were rooms available so we wouldn't have to drive home after a long night of drinking. Front desk clerk began informing us that if we bought a ticket for the party...so I told him we had 2. He said, well in that case the room would be $25.00 US. We snatched it up. In the morning, we get hit with a $122.00 bill for the room and a few breakfast items. Long story short, they refused to honor the rate we were given PRIOR to reserving or checking in. While I love Nicaragua, the lack of honoring the customer is rampant here. It is obvious that for all of Contempo's modern looks, their policies and lack of customer service is as crappy as it is elsewhere in this country.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa & Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We booked this hotel online in the morning and arrived in the afternoon. First impression...we loved the modern & minimal decor in the lobby and the restaurant and it did not end there. We stayed in room #2 "Pino"....again, beautiful, modern, and clean. With only 18-rooms there is such attention to detail. The linens are new, plenty of towels, soaker tub is great, bath products are a better quality, and free wi-fi and free bottled water in the rooms. Excellent!

The pool is a small lap pool in a small but clean and modern garden, great for a morning swim and tan.

Breakfast is included and can be ordered off the menu, lots of choice. We also had lunch from the bistro menu and dinner in the restaurant...dinner was fantastic, french inspired cuisine, lots of excellent choices.

Although we found everything quite nice the best part about this hotel is the staff and the attention & service they provide. Everyone is very friendly and approachable and wants to ensure you are having a great time. From arranging our shuttle to the airport to arranging massages they are excellent. If you do have a chance, we highly recommend having a massage by Francisco. The icing on the cake so to speak was when we ordered a dessert to be brought to the room as it was my boyfriends birthday. They arrived with a beautiful plate with "Felicidades" written in chocolate on the plate, the dessert, and a lite candle. It is this attention to detail that you do not always get in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 610chtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
417 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Contempo is a fairly new design hotel just outside of Managua city. It has only 18 rooms but all are really nice equipped. The restaurant is superb in it's quality and choices. breakafst is á la carte but with enough selections. The hotel offers transport to and from the airport and the taxi rates ar emore then reasonable. Wifi is for free. that for sure is a plus. I really liked it and the only remark i have is that the fan in the bathroom makes a hell of a noise when swithcing on the light. If they can fix that it would be the final dot on the i

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Contempo is a good option for several reasons. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. Much money has been spent here. With smoothing out some rough edges it could be great. The highlight for me was the staff. Wow. Really nice, helpful, smiling…can’t say enough. Not a bad experience in the bunch. The hotel itself is very contemporary, thus the name. The lobby is stunning and the rooms, designed extremely well.

The hotel is in an exclusive neighborhood outside the city. There is nothing around it except nice homes. So if the city feel with things to walk to is your desire, this is not the option for you. If a quiet destination hotel is your desire, perfect.

They are working on several aspects of the hotel. Something by the pool as there was loud saw going off all day. No pool time for me. They are also building out a spa. I did have a very inexpensive massage in the “old” area. Was very basic, but was inexpensive.

My bed was divine. However there was an odd drilling sound about every 15 minutes. I inquired after the first night and they told me it was the air conditioner, but would check on it. No change for the whole visit, but at least I knew what it was. I can sleep through anything, but I know all people can’t. Just a warning.

They have a French chef, so the food is good but on the heavy side.

One night the owner or a principal of the hotel inexplicably left his children to fend for themselves in the lobby. So they turned a very chic lobby into a play ground as several guests tried to endure at the bar.

The staff offers to take you anywhere you want to go. Just realize they will be charging you and clarify the rates. Best for no misunderstandings. If you do book on Expedia or somewhere like it, realize they surcharge you by at least $10 per day.

This hotel is definitely a great option depending on your goals for the visit. As I said, with smoothing out some rough edges this place will be great. I can’t say enough about the staff. Great job.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad one as they are pretty closed in and the neighborhood is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Thought this hotel might be too slick for our stay as we were doing some mission volunteering and buisness in area.But our minds were put to ease when you can feel the sincere friendliness from all the staff members. It has a warm feeling in contemporary unbelievably clean surroundings.I couldnt write down and rave enough about the menu at this hotel ! If I wasnt so happily married I think Id ask the chef to run away with me ! It is french inspired and true to form but with fabulous portions and a flair of local ingredients.The room was beautiful,clean ,cool and everythinng worked fantastically ! Did I mention they have a lap pool ?

Room Tip: We had room 11 and has a wonderful sunken bathroom and large soaker tub all under a glass ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Really nice place to stay at in Mangua. Staff was real helpful and the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphNY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
4.3 mi away
Elements Hotel Boutique
Elements Hotel Boutique
#23 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#13 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya, Km 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing