We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there!”

Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern
Ranked #89 of 345 Restaurants in Managua
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
1 review
“Don't go there!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A discussing place! There was a drunk guy taking a leak, on top of case of toña, because the bath room, was occupied! In another day, got charged more, for beer I didn't drink, and that was the last day we went there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    45
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I don't get what all the hype is about this place. I think everyone may just like it because it reminds them of the food back home. This is a typical American Fast Casual restaurant. The food is mediocre at best. The Burgers taste rubbery, and have a strange texture. The cuts of meat are ok, but nothing to write home about. The wings are decent, comparable to any other wing place. The only real good thing about this place is its location, and even then, the options around it are so much better. Eating here is like going to an applebees basically. Yes you can sit down and have a beer, but you can also do that at every other place nearby. The service is average, sometimes it takes a while to find the waiter. The prices are expensive by nicaraguan standards. I'd say skip it. The options nearby are much better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyCelebrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“if it weren't for the food, this place would not even be worth it...”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

good/varied drinks, good times, and awesome food. that sums up hippos. it's no surprise that people relate similar style bar/restaurants to hippos, the good is really good. the menu could be compared to a small book haha. wings: delicious, lots of different varieties. i am pretty sure they just have BW (at the galerias location) make the wings and bring them over. the burgers/sandwiches: pretty good for the most part, some are a little lacking in flavor, but good overall. appetizers: lots of options to pick from, great to go with all the drinks...which are also top of the line and really, i haven't found a place with better long island iced teas than this place. the flashback (i think) lemonade is also pretty epic. beers are always ice cold which is always a plus

but now...about the service. seriously? i was confused when i saw a top contributor rate this place high with a title of "service with a smile"...um, where? the service here is horrible. every single time i go to hippos, i get distracted from my food based on how incompetent the wait staff is here. i watch them stand around the bar looking nowhere in particular, and ignore me completely when i try to flag them down. i seriously doubt the food takes so long to make (it is simple bar food after all). i know many other places that deal with a high customer volume efficiently and effectively. hippos, you have no excuse. i guess since i don't look like a high roller, i don't deserve adequate treatment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElCheleNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachapa, Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hippos Galerias Santo Domingo”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I keep being drawn back to Hippos because of their good value priced food and their varied menu. This time around, I tried their bacon,cheese burger w/fries. The burger was cooked to order (medium rare) and was flavorful with the bacon and cheese. When you miss an American cheeseburger, this is my place of choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the favored places to eat for my boys, 9 and 11”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I like both locations, but frequent the on in the Gallerias Siman. A nice lunch or dinner before or after the movies on boys night out.
Food is good, service is fast and the beer is almost frozen.
Nice....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing