We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippos Cafe Las Galerias Santo Domingo”

Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern
Ranked #81 of 347 Restaurants in Managua
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Masachapa, Managua, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hippos Cafe Las Galerias Santo Domingo”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

By chance, I went to Hippos Cafe at the Galerias, as the place next door hadn't yet opened. I went with the taste for spicy chicken wings and found to my delight, numerous flavors for the wings. The wings were flavorful and meaty and along with their tasty potato skins was more than satisfied! Their menu is varied and has an offering for almost every taste. There is indoor seating in an airconditioned environment along with their outdoor seating which allows for people watching. The price for the meal for four, I found to be reasonable, and falls in line with the majority of the restaurants at the Galerias. Will eat there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    46
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place has a definite social vibe for the 20 to 40 YO group. The food is decent. We usually split a very good hamburger. The decoration is not as attractive as it used to be but it is still a happening place. Los Robles and Las Gallerias locations.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank holmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santo domingo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad if you are really hungry”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was disappointed in the food. I tried this place twice, but both times i left feeling I had paid to much for the food I had received and thats saying alot in Managua since the food is not expensive at all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to pre-party with some $2.50 long-island iced-teas”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Never eaten here, but my friends and I drink here before going out. For $5, you can drink two huge, strong long-islands, and the people-watching is unrivaled. I know, I know, it's in a mall (Galerias Sto. Domingo), but people love going to the mall here in Managua. So what? Good looking people out on the prowl, for sure. Sit outside and take it all in. This is definitely how the other half lives (and drinks) in Managua.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadBonje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be in the USA.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Some might think exactly the opposite, but I want local food in a local restaurant. Full of sandwiches, fast foods, and flashing lights, the setting was kitch and the menu was strait from the US of A, and priced in $US too.OK for some, but not my scene.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank simond5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Hippos Galerias Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing