We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Managua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Managua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Managua Hills was a gem of a discovery during our trip to Nicaragua. The rooms were excellent, the staff superb, and the food delectable. The setting was in a beautiful section of the city close to area shopping and dining. We had a longer than expected stay initially due to the airlines losing our luggage and had no problem rearranging our schedule to fit the situation. Our stay at Managua Hills was in two parts, before the islands and after the islands. When we returned there for the last visit it was like coming home to a known and familiar destination. When we travel again to the city we will definitely choose Manaqua Hills.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeboo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
37
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Fantastic hotel with unbelievable service! This hotel has a peaceful setting to relax in, just outside the hustle and bustle of Managua. Conveniently located. Hotel staff is amazing. They went above and beyond for us, even arranged a personal tour with a local chauffer. Young, the owner, has a passion for hospitality and willinging shared with us so much about the area and Nica culture. Great value for the money, I would come back in a heartbeat. Safe and secure location in Las Colinas where we could swim, relax in the pool or lay in the hammock on the beautiful patio.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

The rooms were clean although ours smelled so strongly of disinfectant we thought we might get high!

The wifi was very poor, the cable tv wasn't working. Nice pool and garden area. Food was not good. Steak was not fresh. Staff didn't seem too bothered with our well being but there was a birthday party happening which may have skewed things because other reviews are much more positive. The intercontinental is twice as much but as Managua is more of a stopover place anyway, I think it's worth paying the extra if you are looking for a refuge.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Well to be honest, I don't remember the last time I have experienced that feeling, that of ''getting more than your money's worth'' Yes it's been that long! So I would like to thank Young Lau for bringing back that memory, he and his staff have been impeccable during the week I stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourlinguer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed a total of 4 nights over a two week period at Managua Hills B&B and it was a delightful experience. The owner, named Young, is a wonderful, friendly, helpful guy, and is fluent in English and Spanish. The B&B (really more like a small motel, with maybe 14 rooms) is quiet, spotless and a pleasure to stay at. The rooms are very reasonably priced, and there is a very nice swimming pool in the the large garden, along with banana and aguacate trees. Meals are available on site, but don't expect a restaurant. It is a small, fully equiped kitchen, and the cook is excellent. There is a very limited menu, but the food was excellent. Breakfast is included, adding to the bargain. The ONLY drawback is that Managua Hills is located a considerable distance from the center of town and from the airport. It is in an upscale residential neighborhood of Managua, off the road south that leads to Masaya. But, if you are looking for great service, comfortable air conditioned rooms, very reasonable rates, great meals, and a terrifc owner, look no fruther than this Nicaraguan-owned and operated spot. You can't do better, in our opinion!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed with a group of 15. The rooms were great(air cond works perfect). The Staff was friendly and the rooms clean. The meals we ate at the hotel were plentifull and good. We felt comfortable and safe. The pool was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

This was a complete surprise as it's in a quiet garden wonderland within minutes of the city center.. A small hotel that was very clean and well maintained. The food is cooked to order and was simple and fresh. The first place in Nicaragua that had more than a sheet for a cover on the bed. I felt completely safe in the hotel and walking in the residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 51 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Managua
2.5 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 62 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.5 mi away
Managua Backpackers Inn
Managua Backpackers Inn
#9 of 62 in Managua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: Primera Entrada a Las Colinas | 2 cuadras Este y 2 cuadras Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast-a relaxing, tropical oasis in the middle of bustling Managua. From our location in Las Colinas, one of the safest and cleanest neighborhoods in all of Managua, our guests have easy access to all of Managua's attractions, as well as the airport and all of Nicaragua's major cities via interdepartmental bus routes, the Carretera Pan-Americana Sur, and the Carretera de Occidente. Managua Hills is also perfect for either the business or casual traveler. With rates from $38.95 To $77 per night, we provide all of our guests with a hearty Nica breakfast, in-room AC, hot water, free WiFi, in-ground pool access, spacious common areas, and the level of cleanliness Westerners expect in their accommodations. Our private rooms also include cable TV and local telephone service. A mixed 9 beds dorm with fans and two bathrooms is also available. The rate including taxes is US$13.99. Breakfast is free from 7-10am. Managua Hills is a family-owned, locally operated business. The owner speaks fluent English and is always happy to help guests with travel plans and other details, and the rest of the staff is diligent and reliable. We're all proud to invite you to join the Managua Hills family on your next trip to Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Hills Hotel Managua
Managua Hills b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing