We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alright place...if you have to stay in Managua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Managua Backpackers Inn
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although I tried hard to like Managua, I really couldn't find any charm/any interesting sites that didn't feel sketchy. This hostel was located in a residential neighbourhood, so the area felt relatively safe, but I still wouldn't walk around alone at night. There is a giant mall a couple of blocks away, with a grocery store and ATM. The kitchen was clean and well-stocked, and there was a computer for guests to use and a TV/couch area. The back patio area was definitely the highlight of the hostel, there is a pool (the water in which didn't look very appealing when I was there, but a few people jumped in) and some shady trees and a few hammocks and patio chairs. Most of the guests when I was there seemed to be working with NGOs or doing research in the country, and those that weren't working just seemed to be in Managua for the airport or Ticabus connections. In spite of all this, the evenings were pretty nice there, with everyone chilling out around the pool and enjoying beers that you could buy at the hostel. Just a note, I stayed in the non-airconditioned dorm and it was SWELTERING. Definitely shell out the extra cash for AC - you won't regret it!! Also there weren't enough bathrooms for the hostel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra buck or two for AC!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmf789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Managua Backpackers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here for almost a week in the dorm ($10 per night) upon arriving in Managua while I had to search for permanent accomodation. They have 2 buildings about 3 min walk away from eachother. The fun definitely happens at the main casa, where you will have to check in. Casa 2 is much quieter, actually boring. Both casas have a spacious courtyard with 2-3 hammocks.

Positive:
- pool in main casa
- good size kitchens in both casas
- friendly staff
- fast and free wifi
- close to metrocentro mall

Negative:
- had not a single good night here as people leave in the middle of the night to catch a bus or plane. Most stayed for 1 night only
- crappy showers. No pressure, couldnt wash my hair
- old mattresses

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerZ_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We shared a private room for 4. It was perfectly clean but a little run down, w/ ill-fitting sheets and springy mattresses. The bathroom was clean and nicely maintained, and the shower was warm (not hot, but warm). We didn't ask for a room w/ A/C, but they gave us one, and it worked brilliantly. The common space and the kitchen were unmemorable. I mean, I quite literally can't remember them.

I really liked the guy at the front desk -- he was very friendly and knew a lot about Managua. But the other guests were really loud until 3-4 a.m., which wasn't great for us because we needed to get up early.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a terrible hostel, we stayed in a private room with aircon and private bathroom. The room was full of giant ants, the sheets didn't fit the bed, the shower (in room and communal) was so poor I couldn't rinse my hair properly. Behind the curtain in our room was a grimy.

The air con is completely controlled by the staff - so you can't change the temp or turn it down.

Staff unfriendly.

Laundry was done well and location is very close to Metrocentro

Very bad value for money, needs to be gutted and started again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the cheapest hostel we could pre-book as we were arriving after midnight. We read the reviews but have stayed in basic hostels and thought we would give it a go.

We had a private room with aircon

Positive: good location 5 mins to metrocentro, good internet, cheap breakfast

Negative: the room was very poor, the sheets didn't fit, there were giant ants all over the room and bathroom. The showers (private and shared) have the worse presure and are extremly dangerous (electric shock). The service was very poor, the staff really didnt want to help with anything

Overall unclean and not worth $34 a night, would not stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicpodiatrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I flew into Managua to meet my boyfriend where we stayed at the Backpackers Inn before leaving for Honduras, he had already stayed there for 2 nights before me... They were very rude to him and spoke in spanish (even though they spoke "good enough" english) when asking for helpful information. He saw the conditions of the lobby and instead of staying in the dorms which he was originally going to stay in till I arrived, and decided to get a private room, which was equally as bad or worse. There was no A/C, it was extremely muggy in the room even though there was a fan that didn't do much, the sheets were horrible, they didn't have towels so we had to use the sheets from the top bunk bed for a towel, and the staff was extremely rude as I mentioned before, which I can't really stress enough. When he told the owner that he wanted a private room the owner carried on about how I was going to be so mad at him (why?) Personally I was relieved that he got a private room and was away from the ridiculously rude and insensitive people who ran the place. They definitely weren't there to do anybody any favors. The guy also told my b/f that I had said via e-mail " screw him he can stay in a dorm till I get there" ( I was the one who ended up making reservations via e-mail and facebook) I never said any such thing to the guy, I am not sure what world he was living in or if it was just fun for him to try and make a mess out of any situation he could possible get involved with ... The area is not a good area at all and is considered one of the safer parts of town and can be quite dangerous, which isn't the hostels fault, but they didn't do much in assisting anybody dealing with the outside forces that lay beyond the hostel, actually I have talked to several people who said they either just stood there and did nothing to help or laughed at them behind their backs, like it was their form of entertainment to see travels getting chased or harassed. I have also talked to other people face to face that I have met at other hostels that stayed there and had equally as bad of an experience..." Needless to say whenever either of us have to go to the bathroom we now say I will be back I have to go take a Managua" That is the one good thing that came out of the place, we now have a new word for our... Well you get the point! Luckily for them, he decided against leaving a nice steaming pile of Managua on the floor as a thank you present for their help and hospitality... I am not one to complain easily about hostels, they are an affordable way to be able to travel, and it is appreciated that there are places that allow backpackers and budget travelers to be able to do that. I don't need anything even close to fancy or even nice and I am very low maintenance when it comes to that, but this place was on a whole different level... Like the other guy said run, don't walk away from this place... Other reviewers have gave decent reviews based on the fact that they have a pool... the whole place is a pool... a giant cesspool. And considering the conditions and maintenance of the place, there is no way I would swim in it. This place makes San Pedro Sula look like Disneyland.

Room Tip: Just say no...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esqueletosycaracolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Terrible! I have sat and tried to think of at least one good thing to say... the only thing I can think of was the fact that they actually had toilet paper to use... yes... that is my only positive comment.
The staff was unhelpful and they actually seemed to make fun of me when I asked simple questions, like where to safely go to get a taxi. I stayed in a private room and I have been to jail cells that were more inviting. Most of the staff only speaks spanish and are unwilling to help. The wifi and computer were both extremely slow and constantly crashed. I hated every minute I was here and I escaped as soon as I possibly could. I don't like giving bad reviews, and this is the first bad review I am giving. I typically have fairly low standards for hostels since they cater to budget backpackers, but this is the worst. I even got chased by a gang of thiefs less than a block away. The kid (who carries a machete for protection) who guards the door watched the whole thing simply shrugged his shoulders when I came running back. If you want a war-zone experience, this place is for you. If you want a friendly, fun backpacking experience please find a different location... this place and its staff are the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
363 reviews
2.4 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 70 in Managua
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pachamama Managua
Pachamama Managua
#8 of 70 in Managua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte , 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte , Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range: $10 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At MBI, we have 10+ years of experience hosting backpackers, budget travelers and groups of all ages (and all sizes) and from all over the world. Our vision is to offer a friendly hostel in Managua that provides the facilities and services to support the modern traveler. Each of our comfy dormitory beds offers a personal shelf and power connection so that you can keep all your gadgets charged and ready to go. Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if you're planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we also offer the perfect social environment with lots of couch space, hammocks and an outdoor swimming pool. Our friendly staff are always available to help you! Our property is located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget. We offer FREE Super Fast Fiber Optic Internet (via WiFi) and shared computers so that you can share photos and stories with family, friends or work colleagues, wherever they may be. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets and transportation terminals. Local attractions include: -Peppers bar, 2 mins walk -Cevicheria, 1 min walk -Cantonese House Restaurant, 2 mins walk -MetroCentro Shopping Centre, 5 mins walk -Colonia Supermarket, 5 mins walk -La Union Supermarker, 6 mins walk -Banks/ATMs, 2 mins walk -Mcdonalds, 5 mins walk -Zona Hippos, 10 mins walk We offer two fully-equipped communal kitchens, an outdoor swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast every morning and much much more. If you're looking for fun stuff to do while you're in Managua, we also have 'Happy Hour" everyday from 5-8pm as well as Movie Nights on Friday. We also organize other activities in the hostel, including BBQ nights. Free for all our guests: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Free local calls -Netflix lounge -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computers Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing