We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zacatelimon

Zacatelimon
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Zacatelimón is a contemporary, cozy and chic Café Restaurant which refers to a rest in Paris and New York.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The food and desserts are always a favorite, but the service is extremely slow. I have a toddler, and wouldn't recommend this place with small children because of the service. I prefer the lunch menu over the breakfast - sandwiches are always made with fresh ingredients and are filling and scrumptious. The tomato soup alone is worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pdx_treehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have lived in Managua for 4 years and have eaten at Zacata Limon many times. The food is consistently good and the staff is friendly and attentive. One day I paid 500 cordobas (about $20) for 2 cappuchinos and mistakenly left without my change - totally my fault. When I returned about a week later one of the waiters brought me a plastic baggie with my receipt and my change of about $16. I was quite impressed!
Back to the food - they have excellent smoothies, huevos rancheros, waffles, hamburgers and a delicious steak lunch with fries and salad. The chicken salad is also terrific and they have the best carrot cake you'll find anywhere.
My ONLY complaint is that the acoustics are not great so it can be quite noisy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VivaDirectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really good for quick/light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

i took my mom to zacate limon the other for mother's day (as per her request), and i was not disappointed. the restaurant is kind of hidden in plaza el tiangue, but it does stand out with how good it is. definitely more of a lunch place than a nice, hearty meal kind of restaurant, it surprised me. although small, it's a very bright, very clean feeling restaurant. the service is nothing out of the ordinary but definitely better than most places here in my home country (sad but true). i had the media luna (or luna blanca or negra...don't remember the name of it), with an olive tapenade and i believe prosciutto and provolone. an interesting, yet tasty sandwich, with crispy fries...the perfect combo. well worth the price (upper middle range?). mom loved her chicken/avocado sandwich (picture) and dad had the burger, which he was happy with as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElCheleNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to meet and catch up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The menu is full of wonderful options. Everything that I've had is good and the coffee is great. Get a slice of pie or crème Brule to top off a great restaurant experience. We'll be sure to stop here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Houston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for a nice conversation with friends or work meeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nice place for a nice conversation with friends or work meeting. Love the iced lemonade or any other fruit...great coffe, and the service is excelent!!!, Buen lugar para reunirse con amistades o para tener una reunion de trabajo, internet disponible y buenos espacios para reunirse con un rico cafe o un frozen "algo de frutas", recomendado!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linbaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zacatelimon also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Zacatelimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing