We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nica Guest House - you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicaragua Guest House
Ranked #46 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Look, some of these reviewers are complaining that NGH is "depressing", etc. If you want something fancy then go take your $250 per night to the fancy hotels. NGH is a great place to bunk down before hitting the airport. It feels safe, you can walk to the mall, even has internet! The owners are super cool..........set me up with taxis both coming and going. I will definately stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We chose this hostel due to its closeness to the airport on our last night in Nicaragua. The owner was very nice and helpful. However the place is somewhat depressing and was not really how we wanted to remember our otherwise wonderful holiday in Nicaragua. If its just a bed you want then fine, but the hostal is not in the least bit cosy to spend any time in. We were grateful for Netflix our iPad.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night before an early morning flight the next day. We were both very happy with the size of the room (we had a two bed private room with bathroom), cleanliness, and internet access. The other thing we really liked was that it was a safe location, and we were able to walk only 4 blocks to a large mall where we could get food. There is also a supermarket within the mall. The owners were great, and even woke up to send us off with a breakfast to go bag at 5 A.M.! Very thoughtful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is well located near a mall in a relatively safe area (you can walk there and back at night; something of a rarity in Managua). The staff are friendly and helpful. The room, however, whist cleanish, is very basic, not a place you want to spend much time in, and appears to have suffered from little, if any, attention over the years. As a stopover, its ok I guess.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajarelmundo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I generally secure my first night accommodation when I arrive at night at a new location. In this case, I made a reservation to this place because I did arrive around 10 pm. The location is about 7 minutes from the airport. The staff are so polite. The guy even escorted me to walk a few blocks to get something to eat. The place is clean, a great value. Taxi from here to airport is about 80 cordoba, less than or around $4. I later on moved to Granada. Will I come back? Yes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there last night after a recommendation and the owners were so sweet! Good location and area, close to airport for my early morning flight. They are super helpful and great you with a bottle of water and then as i left at 4:30 AM they sent me off with a little breakfast bag!!! Great place to stay, good rooms and comfortable!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briswan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We spend 5 nights here and we really liked it. It was our first time in Managua so it was good to get some help from the owners who was really helpful! It's close to a big shopping mall and also close to the airport! We also got breakfast for the 20 us Dollars that we paid each night! Email them and get a reservation. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Managua hotels
30.8 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
4.3 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maracuya Hostel
Maracuya Hostel
#4 of 76 in Managua
209 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colibri Hotel y Desayuno
3.2 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 76 in Managua
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicaragua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicaragua Guest House

Address: Bello Horizonte VI Etapa 217 | Rotonda La Virgen 2 blocks south, 2 1/2 below, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range: $19 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicaragua Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a tourist hostal intended for backpackers, here you will find the basic necessities to start or continue your trip. Managua is a hot city, here is not common bath with hot water; usually around the country it is with cold water. At 300 meters from us you will find the shopping center Multicentro Las Americas. There are restaurants, supermarkets, banks, cinemas and all kinds of shops. CHECK OUT is 10:00 am. WE CLOSED at 11 P.M (23h). In order to respect the comfort of all guests, we turn out the principal lights and wi-fi at 11pm. Just 7 kms away from International Airport, 2 kms away from Huembes terminal buses and 4 kms from Mayoreo terminal buses, 8 kms away from UCA Terminal buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Nicaragua Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicaragua Guest House Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing