We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not too bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A pleasant enough hotel, though slightly out of the way.

The staff were helpful and courteous, the room was clean and comfortable, and there isn't really anything good or bad to say about this place.

If you want an easy overnight stay in San Salvador, this will be fine, but anything more, you may want to look for something with a little more to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I went to San salvador for vacations and I stayed in this beutiful place. If you are looking for a different place to stay. Its colorfull and so nice for a good time of relaxing your body and mind. I was so happy that they have a good location closer to Paseo del Escalon.

I really love the place. I highly recomend this place and of course I will be back again when I gonna have the opportunity to be in San salvador again,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Staying at this restful, beautiful urban inn was like visiting a relative. My tropical green room with real art on the walls made my visit to San Salvador even better. I stayed 4 nites and did not want to leave. The staff members are friendly and helpful. The happy colors, tropical plants and thoughtful art choices make this a cozy place for those who want a peaceful stay. Bring your camera. An added plus, Beto's Escalon, one of the best seafood restaurants in El Salvador, is steps away on the same tiny block. There is a beautiful pool, cinnamon hummingbirds and other birds that add their songs.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, in good taste; every room is the 'best' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbay ,Roatan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hidden jewel in hte heart of the city is San Salvadors best kept secret. once you walk thru the front gate you are transended into a lovely paradise. the furnishings, art and faux wall finishings made me feel like I was in Antigua Guatemala or San miguelle De Allende Mexico. It had different patios, Big comfortable rooms with comfortable beds and a lovely small pool with mandevilla and bouganvilla covered walls thru out. the owners and staff were very helpful, nice and provided a wonderfully friendly atmosphere. The prices were very very reasonable too.
I plan to return to this exquisite little gem in August. I highly recommend this hotel.
Tricia Power
Roatan, Honduras

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

As opposed to the other review here, I´d say "More than Adequate and Quite Special!" This hotel has the most character of a dozen hotels I´ve visited in San Salvador. Most have that generic modern feel that could place them anywhere in the world or just are not up to par on cleanliness for the prices they charge. This hotel definitely will make you feel like you´re in El Salvador. It´s not a "luxury hotel" but it is clean and presentable. The owner speaks some English and her daughter is fluent. There last renovation added a pool--it´s small, but heck, it´a pool! If you´re looking for a reasonably priced hotel, go for this one and don´t waste your time looking at others like I did. If you want the generic luxury hotel with all the frills, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

I guess the "Rey Primero" is Jesus, given the extent to which His visage is displayed throughout the hotel; but don't worry, there was no proselytizing by the staff and no Bibles on the bedside tables. The room was a little small but, along with the bathroom, had wonderful views over the neighborhood and out to the surrounding hills
and volcanoes. TV, air conditioning, lots of hot water, and free interent access. A very small in-house restaurant where meals are prepared pretty much to your order (so order about 30 minutes ahead of
when you'd like to eat). Colonia Escalon is a nice part of town, but like the rest of San Salvador is mostly comprised of endless commercial storefonts and strip malls; you'll need a taxi -- or good walking shoes -- to get to the city's sights from this hotel.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peterwhite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.0 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#6 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Andoria
Hotel Andoria
#29 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arbol de Suenos
Hotel Arbol de Suenos
#33 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
#41 of 53 in San Salvador
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alicante Hotel
Alicante Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novo Apart-Hotel
Novo Apart-Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero

Property: Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero
Address: Pasaje Dodelly # 4425, entre 85 y 87 Avenida Norte | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Posada del Rey Primero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada Del Rey Primero El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing