We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of food for the money and excellent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamakura

Kamakura
Ranked #20 of 285 Restaurants in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lots of food for the money and excellent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I will definitely go back. This was an authentic Japanese restaurant in San Salvador with very friendly service. I had spicy tuna roles and a Ramon soup dish. Both were excellent and I had more than half my food to take home so it was very well priced for the quantity. I also had a traditional Japanese soda that was very interesting. The menu was extensive and the local great, one block from the Crown Plaza Hotel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The place is superb!!! Loved the decoration and the staff is great, plus is that the owner is there in situ. Had four rolls which the ceviche roll was one of the best Ive tried. I totally recomend Kamakura for a nice dinner or lunch. Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What you can expect!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Japanese restaurant I have visited several times, we went especially for Sushi. It will satisfy your taste buds, if Sushi is the reasoned for your visit, but nothing special! The original owner was a Japanese lady, but since I was told it was sold few years ago? The secret to good sushi, rice and good fresh cut of fish! Most sushi restaurants, owned by non Japanese fail on rice! It is not cooked properly, not cooked well enough and seasoning with vinegar is not a proper mix, then comes the cut and freshness of fish. kamakura uses wooden box to form their sushi rather than by hand. You will find sushi restaurants everywhere these days, especially with their popularity, but exercise caution. The appearance of fish under the glass display case will be the first indicator. They do fair job with rolls.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in El Salvador”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's a bit pricy by local standards, but it is well worth it and if you're visiting from NYC for example you'll find it cheap beyond belief.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jammin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi....don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Went for a business dinner, rather early in the evening. Mostly gringos like me at the table, so we were there before the typical Salvadoran. To a person, we all loved the sushi. We had miso soup (one person said it was the best they ever had), sashimi, several different rolls, even had tempura fried ice cream and bananas.

A great find. Will be back next time I am in San Salvador.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krutec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamakura also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Kamakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing