We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went to this hotel not expecting much, but were wowed at the value, quality, and experience this hotel provided.

The wifi was free and fast. The breakfast buffet was very good. There is an upscale mall right next door with plenty of restaurants. The exercise room was very clean and well equipped. The staff was extremely friendly. The property was very well kept. All of this for only ~$80 USD per night.

We were extremely satisfied and would definitely go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is well guarded, rooms are clean and comfortable, great customer service, not once did I feel unsafe. The gran via is just across the street. I felt right at home. Will stay there again in the future. wi-fi a little slow but they have a few computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalah918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Marriott la gran via was the best choice we could made on our trip to el Salvador; the service was amazing, good food, clean and comfortable. The location is amazing, 10 meters from an outdoor mall call la gran via, and near the downtown. If you don't want to eat in the hotel, you have plenty of choices in the mall. Overall i have to recommend this hotel for the service they provide, always willing to help with a smile and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_Angel_Pitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are staying in San Salvador, this is the place to stay.
Great location, great customer service, great breakfast, good rooms.
The hotel and the area are very well guarded, seems super safe and it is located right next to La Gran Vía mall. What else could you ask for ?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel in 2012, and I can't think of anything the hotel could do to improve its service. This has to be one of my favorite hotels for business travel in Latin America. I still think Salvadorians are the best in Central America at customer service. The hotel is well-managed, and all of the staff appears to be sincerely happy you are their guest.

The location next to Gran Via is excellent. Skip Starbucks and try Viva Espresso for a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone, ask for 316, 318, 416, 418, 516, 518, 616, 618. They are slightly sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hi!

San Salvador is a wonderful city! I agree that most service staff are professional and know how to deal with a delicate situation. However in this case, the front desk manager Mr. Luis Gutierrez proceeded to thrown my daughters's tea cup size poodle from the hotel. My kids were devastated and cry to the act of insensibitlity of the staff!! My daughter has been prescribed the pet as an emotional companion during the trip. To our horror! the front desk manager not only throw the pet out of the hotel but charge me $50.00 to clean the carpet!! what are your thoughts??

Room Tip: Make sure that you select a room that views the front of the holtel, as the rooms in the back have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celia20121995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Considering the reputation of San Salvador this hotel is very safe. There are at least two armed guards patrolling 24 hours a day in the front and rear of the hotel and at least two guards inside. The adjacent, very modern mall and plaza shops are similarly guarded and at no time, day or night, did I feel threatened. The very friendly and efficient desk staff speak English quite well but the restaurant and bar staff, not so much. The rooms were very clean. The pool is OK but the water smelled a bit stale with no hint of chlorine. I swam and didn't "catch" anything. My main complaint is that according to the desk staff, and Marriott Corporate, the faucet water in the rooms is "not drinkable" but nowhere in their Guest Information do they say this. According to Marriot HQ the hotel is supposed to provide complimentary water; however, the bottle of water in the rooms has a price tag of US $1.50 on it. I didn't want to confront the management so I took a 15 minute walk to the grocery store at the Multi Plaza Mall and bought water at about one quarter of the hotel's price. By the way, if you ask them, the hotel will provide you with a microwave. The rooms also have small refridgerators.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiddleAgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.6 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
813 reviews
3.6 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 55 in San Salvador
505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#9 of 55 in San Salvador
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador

Address: Esquina Calle 2 y Calle 3 | Centro de Estilo de Vida La Gran Via, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $82 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of San Salvador, El Salvador when staying in the Courtyard San Salvador. Our contemporary hotel is located within close proximity to the area's most popular attractions, dining, shopping and entertainment, such as El Salvador Modern Art Museum and La Gran Via shopping mall. Take advantage of our free high speed Internet access, comfortable guest rooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, Centro Restaurant and relaxing pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
San Salvador Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing