We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salvadoreans are by far the best "innkeepers" in Central America” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Salvador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Salvador
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Salvadoreans are by far the best "innkeepers" in Central America”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

While San Salvador may not win any awards for urbanism or architectural beauty, the people are incredibly warm, hard-working and excellent at customer service. The staff at the Courtyard Marriott in San Salvador will make you feel welcome. The hotel is next to a small, slightly-overrated shopping center. However, it gives you the chance to escape on foot, go to the movies, eat something and see something. The breakfast is pretty good. Each room has an old-fashioned AC unit which makes a little too much noise. The lobby is very conducive to working. Great WiFi.

Room Tip: Sometimes there is too much noise at the shopping center, Gran Vía, facing the hotel. It would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    96
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
38
19
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I was in San Salvador on business, and stayed two weeks at the Courtyard. The breakfast food was great! The room was really nice. Make sure you get a volcano/balcony room so you have the best view. Very close (about 20 steps) from a fantastic mall that has about 15 great restaurants and is safe. The mall remindes me of Stony Point in Richmond VA....

Room Tip: Balcony room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

In January 2012 I traveled to El Salvador for the first time in my life, and I won't lie, I was a little uneasy about the trip in regards to safety and logistics of the country in general. I was totally surprised at how amazingly friendly and beautiful the country is - and how much I loved staying at the Courtyard San Salvador. I was greeted with a big smile upon check in and the staff was very helpful in answering all of my questions and concerns about the city. The lobby was cool, clean, and refreshing - complete with a nice restaurant, bar, snack corner, wifi, business center, pool, and much more. The rooms are new, beds are big and comfortable, balcony with every room, flat screen TV's, and huge bathroom. The best part of all may just be the neighborhood: the hotel is situated in "La Gran Via" - a VERY SAFE shopping district with wonderful shops, restaurants, and nightlife. I felt perfectly comfortable walking around the area free of worry. Stay here - you will love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

If your looking for a great location to stay and have amenities near by then this is the place to stay at. Rooms are clean the service is friendly. If you need to get around the city, the hotel has contracts with a specific cab company. La Gran Via is right next door that offers great restaurants, entertainment as-well great stores to shop at. Lots of security around the hotel and surrounding area. 1 hour away from the airport and quick access to airport highway. Hotel also offers a shuttle that you have to make arrangements in advance when you book. The pool is amazing and very clean. The restaurant offers you excellent food and great service. Overall a great place to spend time off. Cant wait to return for another excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F1racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was a great hotel, well priced and in a good location. The rooms are a great size and clean. We had 2 different rooms during our stay. 519 was a great room because it was a quite floor and had a balcony. We later had 306 which was noisy and no view. There is free wifi in the hotel, and the staff are really good.

There is a mall next to the hotel, so we had breakfast there at Pans & co rather than at the hotel since it was not included in our room rate.

Overall, I liked it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 519 is a great room. very large, and has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here for a few days in November for business. The location can't be beat; right next to an outdoor pedestrian mall with lots of restaurants, shopping, a cinema etc. Very clean and safe location. Check in was a breeze, the hotel has plenty of conveniences, with all the basics, a gym etc. Only little problems I experienced is that the power went off while I was in the shower, which could have been dangerous, but it quickly came back on again. Also the front desk refused a delivery for me because the first name on the delivery was in my middle name, and for some reason the reservation was made using my first initial. But I have a very unique last name so you would think they would have put two and two together. And the room was slightly small, but beyond that it was fine, especially for short stays. No major complaints and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was surprised when I saw this hotel so high on the list of places to stay in San Salvador on trip advisor. After my stay, I understand why. It was one of my best hotel experiences in my 17 years of travel. This hotel gets it, every member of the staff was so over the top accommodating, it was almost overwhelming. Stay here and over the larger seemingly better hotels, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pondcoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.6 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#8 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#7 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Salvador

Property: Courtyard San Salvador
Address: Esquina Calle 2 y Calle 3 | Centro de Estilo de Vida La Gran Via, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Salvador 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of San Salvador, El Salvador when staying in the Courtyard San Salvador. Our contemporary hotel is located within close proximity to the area's most popular attractions, dining, shopping and entertainment, such as El Salvador Modern Art Museum and La Gran Via shopping mall. Take advantage of our free high speed Internet access, comfortable guest rooms, state-of-the-art fitness center, Centro Restaurant and relaxing pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
San Salvador Courtyard
Courtyard San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing