We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Antiguo Cuscatlan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem in Antiguo Cuscatlan”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I spent a week at the hotel, and chose it primarily for its location near to UCA. What a wonderful choice - from the wonderfully helpful staff, to delicious breakfast made just for you, and complimentary wireless internet (I was able to video-skype). The location is perfect - Antiguo Cuscatlan is such a tranquil part of the city, it's easy (and safe) to walk around, there are a ton of pupuserias within a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel only serves breakfast, but there is restaurant delivery service that you can use if you don't feel like going out, or the staff can easily get you a taxi to go out.

My one complaint was that the bed was a bit hard, and there wasn't a work around for this.

But overall very excellent value for money, and such an oasis in a lovely part of the city. Thanks for a wonderful stay! I highly recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Rooms furthest in the courtyard, furthest away from front desk and upstairs front balcony are likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trini_HotFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
10
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the Universidad Centroamérica (UCA) which is 2 blocks walk away. The area is pleasant, with tree lined streets and safe, at least by day.
The hotel itself is a gem, you breakfast in a garden and there are various terraces and balconies where you can sit. The rooms are OK. The hotel has some green credentials, particularly re energy use (a bit tokenistic in my case havig flown from the UK) and is art of a network of green hotels.
The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, especially since I changed my booking twice to make trips to other places, leaving my luggage at Arbol de Fuego.
Try the Salvadorian breakfast option.
No evening meals but they access a takeaway service from local restaurants which was just what I needed on arrival by bus from Managua.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our daughter. We loved it. It is absolutely charming and beautiful and once inside the place you completely forget about the bustling city outside. Great breakfast, incredibly helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Arbol de Fuego in September 2011 for a couple of days whilst visiting family in San Salvador.

It is located in a nice area, quiet and convenient to lots of things in the city, shopping, restaurants, etc. When we were there, there was construction going on next door, but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel, we didn't notice too much noise.

The hotel itself is painted all kinds of bright colors, which makes it very charming. There are common areas that are nice to sit in, though we also didn't get much use of these as we were busy with family.

The staff is quite helpful, though I wouldn't advise taking the taxi they recommend from the airport. It cost us $25 plus tip, a total rip off. If you are arriving during the day, and feel comfortable, definitely just try to pick up a regular taxi at the airport, but negotiate your fare before you depart for your destination. The taxis we took in San Salvador did not have meters so make sure you sort out your fare before you go.

The room we stayed in was small, but clean. It had a large wooden wardrobe and dresser, that when opened, let off a really musty smell into the room.

The rooms are not very private, as in many small hotels in Central America. One night, there were some people sitting in one of the common areas just around the corner from our room and playing cards and drinking. We could hear every word they said and their laughter, into the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Arbol de Fuego previously and recently spent 5 nights there on a return trip. We can recommend it as a comfortable San Salvadoran accomodation with a convenient location in a calm, quiet almost natural setting, and decorated with local flavor. We had been at a larger American chain hotel which was very elegant but you might as well have been in the US. This hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood where you can watch, as well as hear parrots that live in trees behind the property who depart each morning at 5:30 and return each night at 5:30pm. You can walk to dinner to a nearby street full of pupuserieas, or to a restaurant at another nearby hotel. You can also walk to the University of Central American where there are several sights you should see while in the city. The staff is very helpful, the hotel very secure, and the breakfast choices, served in a lovely garden patio are very satisfying. Another covered balcony offers views of the San Salvador Volcano. What is not to like!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Arbol de Fuego was a quiet, green enclave in the hectic bustle of a rather industrial area of San Salvador. The hotel not only were there green features but you felt like you were among nature, with rooms that opened to a courtyard with plants and bubbling fountain. There was a neat spiral staircase to an observation deck with stunning views of downtown San Salvador and its nearby volcano. Breakfast was delicious with many frshly prepared choices -- eggs, beans, plaintains, etc. Staff was very friendly. Free computer with Internet in lobby. Would definitely stay here again on next visit,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We've stayed at Arbol de Fuego several times now and were glad we chose this hotel every time. The staffs very friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are furnished simply, but are very clean - try for room #9, it's towards the back and a little more quiet, when folks get going in the morning. This place wakes up early, breakfast starts at 6:30am.

Free wifi and a great, quiet garden add to it's appeal.

The taxi ride to Zona Rosa is US$ 6, to the airport US$ 25.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
1.2 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
622 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 54 in San Salvador
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#12 of 54 in San Salvador
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#10 of 54 in San Salvador
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
15.3 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel

Property: Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Address: Avenida Antiquo Cuscatian 11c | Col. La Sultana, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbol De Fuego Hotel San Salvador
Arbol De Fuego Eco-Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing