We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like being at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariscal Hotel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's like being at home”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is a small hotel in San Salvador. The furniture is dated but the service and location are top of the notch. The owner and her daughters take care of every detail they possibly can to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great, right next to a big shopping mall with food court and restaurants nearby. I recommend this as a great hotel with great price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitssy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
2
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL UK
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

I stayed in a junior suite at the Mariscal and can recommend it. The room was spacious,comfortable and clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to give me directions to various places of interest. The hotel is right next to many shops and places to eat, in a neighbourhood that I felt safe in at night on my own as a single woman.It is also close to the buses that take you in to town.I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Noisey air con
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Mariscal was excelent!

The personel went out of their way to make sure that all of my arrangements were in order and that I was well taken care of.

The best of the hotel is the people that work there, they always give you a big smile and make you feel like home.

They really made me feel like I was part of their family.

Thank you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the personel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

For $ 49,- a room and 59,- with stove and sofa ( " Suit " ) not worth the money. You can get much cheaper and better rooms in a guest house or at Hotel Alameda for $ 41,- with a swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar and sauna in the hotel. Mariscal has nothing,.
Forget about the included " Breakfast " it consists of 2 slices of toast one cube of butter one cube of jelly, bad coffe and watery juice.and varies by day sometime a spoon of beans or casamiento, or two - 4 inch pancakes, cost to the " Hotel " less than 25 cents. Everything else is extra. For a " breakfast dipico" they charge $ 4,50. And they have not learnd to make Huevos Rancheros.

The first Room I had was towards a carpark with 3 alarms going at times from 8 AM to 8 Pm. Then in a room with no temperature control for the Aircon when it got hot you turned it on, when it got cold you turned it off, and window without screen, then in a room without a window. And if a room has a window it is 5 feet off the floor and nothing to see anyway.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.3 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 54 in San Salvador
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Porta Plaza Hotel
La Porta Plaza Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Salvador
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marela
Hotel Marela
#20 of 54 in San Salvador
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#10 of 54 in San Salvador
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariscal Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariscal Hotel & Suites

Property: Mariscal Hotel & Suites
Address: Paseo Escalon 3658 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1111, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariscal Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Hotel Mariscal opened doors due to the need of economic lodgment with excellent quality of necessary services for the most demanding guests in San Salvador where they would receive personalized attention and a comfortable stay. Our experience dates from many years ago when the family started to manage a guest house at the beginning of the 50s. La Casa York, as it was called, offered excellence in the service and great comfort. Since then we learned that we should give the experience to our guests to Feel like Home. Eco Hotel Mariscal is located in San Salvador s new commercial and financial center, in between banks, restaurants, malls, etc 5 to 10 minutes away from La Zona Rosa, CIFCO Convention Center, Museums and 45 minutes away from Oscar Arnulfo Romero y Galdámez International Airport. You can enjoy of nice beaches, mountains, volcanoes and archaeological sites situated not more than 40 minutes away from the Eco Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariscal Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariscal Hotel & Suites El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing