We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tazumal House
Ranked #5 of 48 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice and pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I decided to stay at this hotel after reading all the positive comments and reviews.

Everything I read about the hotel was accurate; I could have not picked a better place to stay for the price I paid.

What impressed me the most is how attentive the personnel is to details, the cleanliness of my room, and that of the common areas.

Thanks to all the staff for making my stay, and that of my sister as comfortable as possible.

I will definitely be back.

Danny Martinez
Maryland - United Stated

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
17
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Tazumal we were treated like family. This quaint hotel is located in a quiet, residential neighborhood of San Salvador. The rooms are neat and cozy, there is free internet, and the owners go above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay for guests, providing information about the area, arranging taxis and buses, even setting up an extra bed to accommodate our group when we arrived at night without a reservation. If you are passing through San Salvador and in need of a warm, friendly, and comfortable guesthouse, look no further, Hotel Tazumal is the real deal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebowlingrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here when we flew into San Salvador, and it was a lovely place after about 30 hours of flying. The TV had english speaking channels, the room was clean and so was the bathroom. The hot water was nice too although I got an electric shock from the shower head once. The staff were friendly but did not speak much english. When we checked out the staff did not understand that we had paid 10% deposit when we reserved online and we had to wait for the owner to drive over to sort it out. The free breakfast was nice, and it was good to have the free water refills. Free internet was appreciated.

It was a bit more expensive than other places but it was worth the money if you need somewhere to relax in peace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A pleasant surprise in the suburbs of San Salvedor. Within walking, or reasonable taxi, distance from the centre yet conveniently located for local shops and restaurants, which we felt comfortable walking to in the evening Staff went out of their way to help and make the entire experience enjoyable and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blank70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed here twice, arriving and leaving at odd times day & night and the staff were really friendly and helpful (despite us waking them in the middle of the night!). Our Spanish is rudimentary but they had no problem taking their time to simplify things and making sure they understood for booking taxis etc.
The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and homely. Breakfast is wonderful, particulary the OJ and coffee :-) The hotel has a real ambience with pretty plants and flowers in the courtyard garden, a calm, tranquil feel and comfy chairs to lounge around in surfing the internet - which is free.
The hotel is secure and situated in a good neighbourhood with only a short distance in a taxi to the centre.
All in all, perfect!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowboardkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Among the list of Hotels recommended by BambaExperience, we picked the Tazuma House. We were happy with our choice.
The hotel is located in a secure area of the city of San Salvador. It is immaculately clean and the staff is professional and very helpful. You can rely on their advices about places to visit,and how to get there safely, etc.
We are continuing with our trip throughout the Americas. When we will be done, San Salvador is one of the places we think about revisiting and we will definitely stay at the Hotel Tazumal House.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusteau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The room was great, with a/c, good bathroom and tv. Breakfast was one of the best, we could choose it too, and the staff really helpfull. They would have even taken us to the coast with them (it was holiday season), but too bad we were heading the other way.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemandingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
0.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 54 in San Salvador
31 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#10 of 54 in San Salvador
67 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#9 of 54 in San Salvador
119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
653 reviews
2.2 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 54 in San Salvador
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tazumal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tazumal House

Property: Hotel Tazumal House
Address: 35 Avenida Norte Casa #3 | Reparto Santa Fe, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tazumal House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tazumal was born with the idea of offering its clients who travel for pleasure or business, a comfortable and cozy atmosphere that will make your stay pleasant and comfort with personalized attention. It has spacious and comfortable rooms with the following services; Breakfast, LCD TV 24 and 32 "with cable, Air conditioning, Wi-Fi unlimited at no extra cost in all our hotel facilities, Private bathroom with hot water, Desk, Telephone, Maid service daily in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tazumal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tazumal House El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing