We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza

Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Calle Poniente No 4319 | Colonia Escalón, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Pass
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a greta hotel in a very peaceful part of San Salvador. The rooms are basic but have all that's needed. The service is greta, the internet works well, and the food is excellent. The breakfasts are a little basic, but the a la carte menu saves the day. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff at Mediterraneo Plaza were completely outstanding in their service and customer attention. The room was roomy and very clean. The location in excellent with a perfect location within San Salvador. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kilayeomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My family and I (7 people, adults, young adults, and a chld) spent 2 weeks at this hotel, the price was great, the service was super. Everybody was friendly, serviceable, the food was delicious. They took us on a tour to see El Boqueron (the crate) was fabulous. We are planning to go again to El Salvador and will go to the same hotel. We are telling all our friends to stay in that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mediterraneo and plan on staying there again in the future as the service was excellent. It is located in a central area making access to the beaches, airport and other parts of San Salvador easy.

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hansyorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadview, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for four(4) nights. June 25-28, 2008.
It is a reto-1970's attempt at a mediterraean villa. I only paid $ 45 USD per night. There is NO elevator. There is a curling stair case of 25 steps to each floor. I was on the second floor, so, I had a 50 stair climb each day. Room service was just O.K. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, along with other small botique hotels, and family houses. It is not too far from the 5-star Sheraton Presidente(which I was contemplating moving too).
The room was just about adequent. i guess it use to have two beds in the room, one had been removed, but the headboard was still nailed to the wall. It had a window Air conditioned, which just barely worked, I had to keep it on high, and that was just tolerable. You have to have the front desk call you a taxi, because a taxi ever hardly comes down the street where this hotel is located. I only experienced one power failure black out while there for my 4 nights, it lasted just under an hour. I don't believe this hotel has a back-up generator. The biggest complaint, is, the nightly noise. adults and children yelling and scraming in the hallways, in the lobby, out at the pool area, loud music, singing. It is a great place for the locals to gather and raise hell. The only reason I stayed there so long was that T.A.C.A. airlines had lost my luggage, and it took them 3 1/2 days to deliver it to this hotel. as soon as it arrived, I shower, changed, and checked out. The only thing good about this place, was the off-season room rate of $ 45 USD per night. NO, I will never return to this property.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone~Walkabout~Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Salvador hotels

Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

This is a great hotel!! located next to the radisson is way cheaper than the radisson. I would higly recommend this hotel. Also they are able to provide you with shuttle services. You can contact me to ask me questions about it or I can hook you up with a reservation.

Stayed January 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.8 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#5 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#12 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Serena Escalon
Villa Serena Escalon
#15 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.8 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#2 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Armonia Hostal
Armonia Hostal
#16 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza

Address: 15 Calle Poniente No 4319 | Colonia Escalón, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza we take care of our guests. Inside the hotel, looks modern architectural design of the Mediterranean coasts in the most exclusive area of San Salvador. The style of our facilities will give you a pleasant stay, and we guarantee you will feel at home, thanks to the warmth and friendliness of our staff, combined with a discreet and personal attention. Tours, laundry service, travel assistance, room service, group rates, transportation, and service banquet. Enjoy a warm stay in El Salvador ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing