We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful church”

Catedral Metropolitana
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
San Salvador and Panchimalco City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rome, Ga.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This church has some really beautiful architecture inside and you can go downstairs and see the tomb of Bishop Romero, which is even more elaborate and beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry_and_Zizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    81
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“They took down the pretty tiles!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was at this church a couple of years ago and since then they have removed the wonderful cultural tiles from the front of the building which makes the front look very plain and was very disappointing. The windows inside the church are beautiful and don't miss going downstairs, you must get there from outside though. The location of the church is a little dicey, I would not go there alone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet refuge in a busy city”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As we walked into the sanctuary the noise from the surrounding streets faded quickly and it was clear this continues to be a refuge from daily life even for a few brief moments. As part of the history of the city and the country as a whole we would have benefitted from a guided tour as others have posted. However, through conversations with others that were there, we learned enough of the church's importance in the history of the Salvadorian people. We also paid a visit to the the tombs downstairs. It's too bad we missed seeing the mosaic prior to it being taken away.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A painted chuch”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The catedral is a very pretty hurch. It has good paints all around but the paints were changed this year, I don´t know if it looks as good as before. The places around are not that safe.

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Scenery”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A great place to visit on your next trip to El Salvador.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellyngth Lily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral Metropolitana also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Catedral Metropolitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing