We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to find great Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Zocalo

El Zocalo
Ranked #23 of 281 Restaurants in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Easy to find great Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've been here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The food is delicious. The drinks are great and you can either eat in the restaurant or in an indoor courtyard just outside it. On my most recent visit, I was accompanied by my 1 year old daugher and 80+ year old mother in law and was very pleased with the accomodation made for both. This place comes very highly recommended but there are not a lot of good Mexican food restaurants here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Close and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We passed by El Zócalo in our bus when returning to our hotel, Villa Real, on Sisímiles. It looked nice, so we walked back for dinner. It was the best Mexican food we've had on several trips to El Salvador - better than another Mexican restaurant a few blocks away. Our group had a variety of meals from very generous nachos to tacos and the Pancho Villa which looked like a sliced taco with guacamole and beans in the middle. Everyone enjoyed the meals and thought it was well worth the 10 minute walk from the hotel. The margaritas and sangria were very good as well. Service was prompt and attentive. In Mexico this would probably not be rated excellent; however, in El Salvador good Mexican food is rare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldereaglewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, great portions, wonderful margaritas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

El Zocalo is possibly the best Mexican food in the city, although that isn't necessarily a great accomplishment as it doesn't have much competition. Everything they serve is good, although nothing really stood out as fantastic. I've been there three times, but I certainly don't salivate thinking about the meals. It is worth noting, however, that their portions are generous, they have excellent hot sauces, the margaritas are excellent, and it's genuinely a good place to eat.

It also has good vegetarian options which can be important if you are planning dinner for big groups.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoya, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Good Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, I had eaten at this place back in September 2012, and the fresh tortillas, and the salsas were so good. But my personal favorite! A corona Zocalo style!!! The fact that's so conveniently located, makes it easier to enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Armando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excelent mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excelent mexican restaurant where we had dinner twice at it was not far from our hotel Hotel Casa Cuscatlan. The staff was nice and the service was perfect. Good choice of plates, even for the vegetarians. Totally recommendable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbigoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Zocalo also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to El Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing