We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

In October my husband and I spent 2 weeks in The Crowne Plaza, the staff is amazing they go out of their way to make you feel especial and comfortable, especially the Bar and restaurant staff and not to mention the bell boys.

Wonderful place but this time we were a bit disappointed about the shuttle bus, three years ago when we visited, they were available every single day all day, this time only after 7pm and they have a fixed timetable, which is nice but not always convenient.
Thelma Martinez
Australia

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvad0rena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Director de Recepción at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Salvad0rena,
Thank you for your review. Our staff is very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay; we are committed to delivering memorable experiences to our guests.
Your comments regarding the shuttle will be shared with the related departments in an effort to provide you with a better service. We hope you will prefer Crowne Plaza San Salvador on your next trip to El Salvador.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

A great place to stay - but the jewels in their crowne (sorry!) are the concierge staff, namely Astrid & Roberto, both of whom went out of their way to ensure our stay was just perfect.
We were on the 7th floor with fabulous volcano and city views.
Not a great fan of hotel restaurants in general, on our last night & being car-less, decided to eat at the main restaurant. It was really, really good - I don't think I have ever had such a great meal in a hotel, with the possible exception of Claridges!

El Salvador is an absolutely lovely country - so much to do and see - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear YR R,
Thank you for your review. It has been shared with all of our staff. Astrid and Roberto are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide great service and are very proud of our team. For us, it is really important to learn about you experience; thank you for sharing your thoughts! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Salvador.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My stay in this hotel was one of the most pleasant that I have experienced this year (I travel 50%+ of the weeks in a year). Front desk service was excellent. Room was clean. Coffee was in the room. Access to the internet was excellent. Just what a busineess person is seeking when planning a trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Randy J,

Thank you for this great review! We are ecstatic to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us. It was delightful to have you as our guest; we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great full-service hotel in one of the better parts of San Salvador. I stayed on a PointBreaks Priority Club rate. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I received an upgrade to the "Business Class" floor with access to the business lounge and other perks. I had a rental car and parking was provided at no charge. The common areas of the hotel are large, spacious, and elegant. There seem to be a lot of day visitors for conventions, meetings, and such. I did not visit the hotel's restaurant or lounge. Many restaurants are within close walking distance at next door Plaza Futura. Internet access was provided free of charge and was reliably fast. The hotel is an older building, which shows in some details - especially in the guest rooms. The room I had was a bit stale, with minimal decoration, a musty smell, and a really old cooling system. The bathroom was nice however. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well, if just a little too warm. The views to the north up to San Salvador volcano are great if you happen to get a room on that side of the building. There is another hotel (The Plaza) which shares the pool and the grounds but it is not of the same quality as the Crowne Plaza. Traffic can be testing on your patience to and from the hotel certain hours of the day, as would be expected in San Salvador. The staff I interacted with were very pleasant and most spoke English very well. I would not hesitate to stay here again if in San Salvador. The property would get an "Excellent" rating if there were a complete overhaul of the older portions of the hotel to bring in a more modern feel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Ajnuff,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. Our views to the San Salvador Volcano are certainly delightful! Your comments are very important for our team and have been transmitted to all department heads and staff. We would like to share with you that the installation of new carpets in all guest rooms has been recently completed. We hope to enjoy the pleasure of having you as our guest on your next trip to San Salvador.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks for work. The hotel is situated in a huge development linked to a posh shopping mall; the latter is advantagious because you have several nearby dinner options in a safe environment. The hotel is quite large with loads of public spaces.
The strong points are: fantastic views from the restaurant area and very good (clean and appealing) bar/restaurant areas. The rooms are of a nice size and clean & comfortable enough. The service is adequate.
Value for money is ok, though not special.
Downsides: the place was inundated with schoolchildren on a sport event. It meant noise, waiting and more noise. The hotel did not take adequate steps to 'help' the normal guests which meant I got little sleep for several nights. Better planning would surely have avoided this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Martijn t,

We always love to know about your experience in our hotel since it helps us to find ways to make memorable stays for our guests. We are very happy to learn you enjoyed our rooms, location, views, and restaurant area. Please accept our apologies regarding noise during your stay; we have informed the related departments and are taking measures to prevent it from happening again. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you will grant us the opportunity of creating a delightful stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Upon our arrival from SAL airport we were immediately greeted by a bellman and directed to reception. We prepaid for a 1BR Master Suite @ $255 USD/night and joked about wanting to get upgraded to the Presidential and to our surprise we were!!! I am sure it had something to do w/ the fact that we are Priority Club Rewards Platinum members. The only down side was that the Executive Lounge was closed on the weekend but who cares, right, it's the Presidential Suite! As previous reviews mentioned, the rooms are dated w/ somewhat of a musty smell and the A/C not up to par.

The hotel itself looks to be in great condition, very clean, very open w/ a warm feeling. The gym has everything you need to get a good workout. The pool is huge and warm. The restaurant is so so for dinner but great for breakfast w/ pupusas made to order.

The Staff is awesome and totally believes in customer service! I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Many benefits for Priority Club Rewards members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Iv2trvlevrywer,

Thank you for this fantastic review! We encourage our team to create delightful experiences for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we are thrilled to learn you enjoyed a pleasant stay and are satisfied with our service. Your feedback is of great importance for us since it allows us to find areas of opportunity. We look forward to having the privilege of your visit on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was for many decades the best place in town: the San Salvador Interkontinental. Today, it is the Crown Plaza of the same group, but the infrastructure has aged. Some new additions have been built, but the rooms show signs of aging. Nevertheless, service is still prime, and the hotel remains a popular place for weddings and other fiestas.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CESLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear CESLB,

Thank you for reviewing us! We love to learn that you enjoyed our service during your stay at Crowne Plaza San Salvador. We are always thrilled and grateful to know about your experience with us since it helps us to find areas of improvement. Currently, we are reconditioning our guestrooms to assure guest satisfaction. We hope to enjoy the pleasure of your visit in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#12 of 55 in San Salvador
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Address: 89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $102 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson San Salvador
San Salvador Radisson
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing