We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Noisey”
Review of Novo Hotel & Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novo Hotel & Suite
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I stayed at Novo-Apart Hotel for about a week, I was supposed to stay longer but unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. The hotel is located near a couple of nightclubs, and the German techno music starts at around 11pm and continues well into the morning hours most nights.

I'm not a light sleeper so it takes a lot to wake me up. I spoke to hotel staff about this and at first they were not that helpful, saying that if it happens again and I'm woken up I need to ring them and then they will then contact the police who will then go to the club ask them to turn the music down. After this happened about 4 nights in a row, I was desperate for a full nights sleep and it just wasn't possible at this hotel. I checked out and went to another hotel.

Also the hotel is not the best location. I was a sinlge female there for work and to be honest I felt very uncomfortable working around the hotel. There is a shopping mall about 15 min walk from the hotel and even the hotel reception advised me to talk a taxi. Not ideal. I would recommend this hotel if you are there 1-2 days but no loger. Its a shame as staff are nice, if not a little inefficient.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Traveller28Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Novo Hotel & Suite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2008

Travelling in Central America for almost 7 weeks "without a plan" we (a retired U. S. couple in our 50's and a retired Canadian couple) did not plan to go to El Salvador. However, we ended up in San Salvador and decided on the Novo Apart-Hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is in a peaceful garden setting in a big city. The rooms were pleasant. Safety deposit boxes are available at no charge. There is 24-hour security, a pool, and a good restaurant. Everything is well organized with Dona Carmen (owner) on site weekdays. Some of the front desk staff speak English, but everyone is anxious and willing to help with any questions and other travel arrangements. We stayed here 3 nights and returned for one night on our way back to Honduras. We found this hotel to be a good value and highly recommend it for both pleasure and business travel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MikLinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

The Novo Apart-Hotel was recommended by a Salvadoran business associate, and we have been repeat guests ever since. The rooms are simple by US standards but clean and comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. Having some Spanish helps a lot because most of the staff speak little if any English. There is wireless internet in most areas of the hotel. The buffet breakfast with made to order omelets is wonderful! It's great to relax poolside with drinks and food from the restaurant after a long busy day, it really is like a quiet green oasis in the middle of the city. Don't count on dinner in a hurry, because the restaurant service can be quite slow at times, but this has as much to do with Salvadoran culture as anything. Just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ramblerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Very nice Hotel, I decided to book it for 4 days while in San Salvador while doing business there with the hopes that if I did not like it I would move elsewhere, needless to say I stayed there for the 2 weeks. I should also mention that the hotel has a deal with another resort by the beach (La joya del Pacifico) where you can spend the day free of charge. I was pleased with the staff at Novo and felt safe at all times. It is located in the heart of Escalon which made it easy for me to drive around to all key places. It also has security 24 hours, which also helped when parking late at night. There are shopping centres close by and taxis available at all times. Some of the other guests included people in business from Panama, Costa Rica, a couple from Belgium and some from the Czech Republic. The hotel has an internet room with slow but workable units. Breakfast was ok but I could not take advantage of as I needed to go early each morning. Overall, very nice, clean hotel to spend your nights, with reasonable fees per night. I Would highly recommend.
Miguel Martinez
Toronto, Canada
m.martinez@panamericanrealestateinvestor.com

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank mhaguila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews here and wasn't disappointed.

The service is kindly (though since it caters primarily to regional business folks not much English is spoken).

The rooms are spacious and as the name suggests allow for self-catering with a fridge, and range. The rooms are red tiled and kept spotless although the beds and linen are a bit tired. You get a TV remote when you check in to use on a small TV which does have cable. There is a business center where you can access the internet.

The rooms are around a pool (there is even a tiny baby pool) and leafy courtyard which is where the "rancha" where the restaurant is. There is a generous breakfast buffet with a good selection of hot and cold food, but otherwise the menu is adequate if a little limited.

The hotel is in a posh neighborhood and the cabbies outside are honest and very reliable. The airport is 55 km from San Salvador center and a taxi will cost you $22. The hotel can arrange a shared shuttle to the airport for $10. You can hire a cab for $100 a day and cover what the Greyline tours offer in 2 days (e.g. Mayan ruins of Santa Ana, Lake Cotapeque, Flower Route) or for $60 take in both the beaches of Costa Linda and La Libertad (much cheaper if you do this on your way to/from the airport since close to the airport).

The hotel is on a quiet cul de sac so this place is a leafy oasis in a bustling city. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

I recently stayed at the Novo and was satisfied with the service. Although it bills itself as a 4 star hotel, to USA standards it is more like a 3, maybe even 2. However, it is clean, in a good location, offers nice amenities like free internet (wireless in rooms), a free hot breakfast, and a helpful staff. There is a small gym and massages are available for a mere $17.00. The small pool is very nice and the landscaping is made up of lush tropical plants giving the hotel somewhat of an oasis-like feel. The negatives of the place really can only be attributed to the rooms. My room with two double beds was clean and had a nice small kitchen area, however the shower curtain was flimsy and caused the entire bathroom to get wet with water and some of the doors to the cabinets in the kitchen were missing. But overall, for 55 dollars a night, these were pretty minor problems and overall I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cpchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

what a bargain. this well located, quiet and comfortable hotel would be hard to beat for 40.00 per night. sparsely furnished suites, most with baconies overlooking lovely pool and garden area. splindid full breakfast served poolside included in price. staff most helpful and courteous. good location in quiet residential area near shopping and public transportation. best bargain in extensive trip covering central america, mexico an u.s. highly recomened for value

8  Thank volney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.8 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#7 of 55 in San Salvador
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
0.1 mi away
Kal Nawi Hotel
Kal Nawi Hotel
#22 of 55 in San Salvador
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
Sal & Luz Hotel Boutique
#14 of 55 in San Salvador
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novo Hotel & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novo Hotel & Suite

Address: 61 Avenida Norte | Colonia Escalón, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $74 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novo Hotel & Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novo Hotel & Suite, the first Hotel in El Salvador, with ecosoustentable Certification Turism Your home away from home, Our Warm and experience will make your stay in our hotel a placent experience Restaurant Pool Gym Wi-fi Internet Meeting Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novo Hotel & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Apart Hotel San Salvador
Novo Hotel & Suite El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing