We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Salvador - A Thriving City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo San Salvador
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“San Salvador - A Thriving City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Don't let the American Headlines fool you. San Salvador is a thriving and vibrant city! The Hilton Hotel is located in a very safe and hip area. Lots of shops, restaurants within walking distance. The staff is bilingual and very friendly. Prices are extremely reasonable. The housekeeping staff aims to please. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Do not get your room directly in front of the hallway speakers as the music did bother my colleague at night. Executive Suite is awesome. Free printing if needed in lobby. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Presspasslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your visit and the positive evaluation. We are happy you felt comfortable and well served. We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home and we can welcome you back on any future visits.
It is a pleasure to welcome this review and this gives us a lot of encouragement to keep working every day with dedication and passion to continue creating positive experiences for you.
Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    191
    45
    13
    12
See reviews for
78
71
41
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I went to San Salvador (El Salvador) several times, and always stayed in Hilton.
It's a very nice hotel, very fancy, but with a reasonable price; probably due to the country economy status. (For the native this is probably a very expensive place)

Anyway, the staff are great. They really try to make you feel as confortable as possible.
The hotel is located in a good place, close to several good restaurants and bars.
My only problem that i had once, was the internet, that becomes very instable in rainy days.

Despite of that, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to San Salvador.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Hilton Princess San Salvador, We really appreciate the time taken to express your opinion and observations, please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our services.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Overall had a great experience at the Princess Hilton. We basically used the 12 night stay to sleep, we didn't eat at the restaurants, or use the gym. The restaurant was pricey and the gym looked clean and had lots of machines. Used pool once, very nice! Hotel had 2 computers with internet access, always available when I used them. The hotel is near a nice shopping center with a bar, restaurant, pharmacy and coffee shop. Hotel also near a McDonalds and Denny's if you travel with family.

The hotel does need updating and touch-ups, the first impression is the front desk, the back wall was dirty and needed painting. The rooms were nice and bed and sheets were nice but the carpet was stained and needed to be cleaned. AC and the wifi worked well. Maid service was great, brought towels if needed and cleaned very well.

The staff was nice, especially the doorman, Miguel, Luis and Nelson were very friendly and helpful. Always suggested places to visit and places to grab a bite to eat. Always helped with luggage or backpacks from our daily travels. Tip these guys, they deserve it!

I would stay there again when I go back, great price and great service...More importantly, my mother in law got sick and fainted in the room, dehydration, we called the front desk for help, to send an ambulance (911). Within 15 minutes, a doctor and nurse show up, analyzed her and gave her an IV and a prescription, we walked to the pharmacy, paid $15 for the medicine. Was wondering how much the doctor service was going to cost me...called front desk since doctor didn't leave a bill, front desk said it was covered by the hotel. WHAT A RELIEF!! Someone from hotel called 15 minutes later to see how she was doing!! My wife was very grateful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiep1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your visit and the positive evaluation. We are happy you felt comfortable and well served. We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home and we can welcome you back on any future visits.
It is a pleasure to welcome this review and this gives us a lot of encouragement to keep working every day with dedication and passion to continue creating positive experiences for you.

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall a great experience, very courteous staff. I was welcomes with a glass of fresh orange juice. Lobby was clean and welcoming. Room was clean and welcoming. However the room could have been kept cool, I know AC is turned off to conserve power however there has to be a way to keep the air circulation going. Breakfast menu could be diversified.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Udeechi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your great feedback; you are always cordially invited to visit us again at Hilton Princess San Salvador to enjoy our facilities, our personalized service. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

It will be very nice to host you once again on a near future.

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

room carpet dirty; most of my stay; I was afraid of getting a bacteria in my feet. The gym has broken machines, the steam room smells bad; carpet in the open areas need to be cleaned; internet should be free for hotel guest; I stayed in this hotel back in 2008, and they have not updated the rooms at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elmer Horacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greeting from Hilton Princess San Salvador, We really appreciate the time taken to express your opinion and observations, please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our facilities and services.

I deeply regret the inconveniences found during your stay, please make sure we are taking corrective actions to avoid those kinds of incidents happen again. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again and serve you as you deserve.
Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was the presenter to a large group of customers at this hotel. In addition to the business event, I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and the responsiveness of the staff. The executive lounge was easily accessible and had generous hours for free food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFishin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your visit and the positive evaluation. We are happy you felt comfortable and well served. We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home and we can welcome you back on any future visits.

It is a pleasure to welcome this review and this gives us a lot of encouragement to keep working every day with dedication and passion to continue creating positive experiences for
our guests.

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a great location in the Zona Rosa. The service is fantastic and the entire staff is very nice. The lobby is very nice and so is the Churchill bar, though inside the bar tends to be a little sleepy. The pool is not amazing but it's serviceable. It is oddly off the lobby, which is somewhat awkward. I strongly recommend requesting a room with a view of the Boqueron volcano (as opposed to the McDonalds) and also a room WITHOUT an adjoining room as there is no real sound barrier and you can hear everything in the other room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajefun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree426, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Hilton Princess San Salvador, We really appreciate the time taken to express your opinion and observations, please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our services.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#8 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#7 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Salvador

Property: Barcelo San Salvador
Address: Ave las Magnolias y Blvd del Hipodromo, San Salvador, El Salvador (Formerly Hilton Princess San Salvador)
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a High-rise Hotel situated in the heart of business district with spectacular views to the volcano and the city. Surrounded by the best restaurants in a secure and calm area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Hilton Hotel San Salvador
Hilton San Salvador
San Salvador Hilton
Barcelo San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing