We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing concierge support from Luis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo San Salvador
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel staff were really amazing. The reception area is bright and cheerful and the front desk staff offers bilingual service in Spanish and English which was helpful. Luis, the concierge, was simply fabulous. He made me feel right at home and helped me arrange a city tour guide for the following day. He was really wonderful.

The hotel rooms are nice, spacious and clean - beds are also comfortable. There is some building construction underway so elevators were slow but the service elevators were also offered up for use. The main challenge I had was that in order to get to the pool area, you had to basically walk through the restaurant. The pool itself is actually just outside the wall of windows of the restaurant which makes it really exposed and non-private. This felt a little uncomfortable in such a conservative country. There was also quite limited pool seating. That said, it was nice to have a clean towel waiting on the chairs outside near the pool itself.

In terms of location, the hotel itself seems to be located in more of a residential type of area but is relatively close walking distance to a supermarket where you can buy bottled water, fruit, snacks, etc. All prices are in US dollars which makes it easy for Americans to visit El Salvador. In terms of restaurants, there did not appear to be much close by - more just American fast food which was not of interest to me at all. There are safe ATMs in the hotel next to the reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo San Salvador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hilton Princess staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was included and fantastic. Order the papusas.

I stayed for a conference, which was held at another hotel, so I did not spend much time on site. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable.

Only downer: they ran out of bottled water by the end of my stay.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to guarantee a view of the volcano. Try to get a room that does not face McDonalds...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT001KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our concierge Luis Garcia was exceptional with his service helping us plan tours, restaurants and thing to do in San Salvador. His friendliness and expert knowledge impressed us very much and made us feel very much at home at the Hilton. Also of special note were the staff at the Executive Lounge who during our nine day stay made feel very welcome and looked after all our needs. With all the friendliness and helpful service, we felt very special and comfortable staying at the Hilton Princess.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank brucehunterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have worked as a Food & Beverage Director in the States for over 20 years, and the service that I received at the Hilton San Salvador was by far better than I have seen anywhere in the States. Thank you for an enjoyably stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Whenever I am in San Salvador I stay at the Princess. The hotel is centrally located and provides a welcome oasis. The rooms are spacious. The Dining room is very nice. They have a large breakfast buffet which helps me get my day off on the right foot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Norwell_MARiderEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers and recommending our service. We are really glad to hear that we exceed your expections with our service.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards

The Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a frequent traveler, it is easy to notice the subtle and not-so-subtle quality differences between hotels. This hotel truly is noteworthy for the extremely professional and courteous staff - from front desk and concierge, to wait staff and conference support. The hotel was comfortable and functional, with the right amenities. Nothing extraordinary. The staff, however, helped give the business stay a "resort" feel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the place to stay in San Salvador. I came here from the United States with my wife, who was born in San Salvador, to tour El Salvador and take day trips to Guatemala and Honduras. This hotel was Outstanding in all respects and a dramatic contrast to our absolutely dreadful experience with the Royal Decameron in Salsinitas ( Avoid that hotel!) . The helpful friendly staff accomodated all requests. The room was clean and quiet, the lobby is modern and upscale, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 55 in San Salvador
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 55 in San Salvador
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#8 of 55 in San Salvador
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Salvador

Address: Ave las Magnolias y Blvd del Hipodromo, San Salvador, El Salvador (Formerly Hilton Princess San Salvador)
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $78 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a High-rise Hotel situated in the heart of business district with spectacular views to the volcano and the city. Surrounded by the best restaurants in a secure and calm area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Hilton Hotel San Salvador
Hilton San Salvador
San Salvador Hilton
Barcelo San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing