We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Salvador
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not as good as it should be!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a relative held her wedding reception here. We selected an executive room - no shower cap for my wife, the room "keys" did not work neither in the elevator nor in the room, the executive breakfast was awful and very sparse and service ceased at 10 am - I could go on! Breakfast for non executive guests continued until much later and was much better than the executive offering.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for an executive room - it really isn't worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    194
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
81
74
41
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
573 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here on two occasions a week apart. This is a very comfortable hotel, with a nice bar/coffee lobby, lots of meeting rooms, outside pool, top floor spa, sauna, jacuzzi, and exercise room. Though the room may not be classified as the most luxurious or elegant, it was certainly spacious and adequate. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite good, with lots of choices. I ate one dinner in the dining room and was pleased that they had a special 3-course meal with a glass of Argentine wine going for $25. A second glass of wine cost $11.95, however! Service was excellent. And the $40 massage for 50 minutes was wonderful, followed by the Jacuzzi.

My only complaint--and it was a big one--was that the card keys did not work, almost never. During my first two nights, I had to constantly ask someone to come help me with a special key. One time I counted 50 tries before I gave up. One of the engineers came up and told me they reprogrammed the lock key system on my door, but it didn't help. Since the key had to be used in the one elevator that was working, this was unacceptable, and I told the staff so. When I came back, they had gotten new keys, and mine worked! They had also changed one of the elevators so a key was not needed. Had it not been for this highly frustrating problem, I would have been totally happy. But no Hilton should allow its key system to get into this kind of state and put its guests through such inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a five day stay at the Hilton. Although the room quality suffers a bit from some wear and age, the outstanding service makes a stay well worth it. The front desk, catering, restaurant, bar and service personnel are friendly and competent. I saw some reviews that called the service overwhelming, but I totally disagree. The strive to provide a higher level of service and want their patrons to be satisfied, something that is lacking in major chains in the USA. There is a problem with the elevators, one was out of service while I was thee, but the staff made every effort to assist by redirecting me to the service elevators and on two occasions, offering to remove a maid cart and a linen rack so I could ride in the service elevator. All of this was performed with a smile and a pleasant countenance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyCityDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hilton Princess for your recent stay at San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with the elevators, improvement measures will be taken in order to avoid such problem in the future. Please come back upon your next trip to San Salvador, we will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

All services of the hotel are very good, have a delicious buffet breakfast, always clean and comfortable rooms, the gym very good standard and well maintained. The location is recommended because it has many places of convenience nearby. It's really relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here over Christmas, 2012. It's a Hilton, mind you, so what more can you want? Plush, exquisite, nice, clean, excellent staff service, car rental agency, excellent restaurant, etc. And, it's located in a safe area of town with some restaurants within waling distance.
One thing most people don't do: walk up the hill to the little church in the middle of the road. Try to get inside, because it's beautiful.

Room Tip: get a room with a city view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Osote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your Christmas time in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The quality of service is excellent. The food is very good and the gym is superb.
The only thing you should be aware of is to get clear information about airport shuttle fees.
I highly recommed this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leorodrigueznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is located in a nice residential zone, close to Restaurants and nightlife. The hotel has excellent service, front desk check in and out is friendly and fast. Doormen are friendly, borderline obsessive but well intentioned. The rooms are getting a little dated, especially the bathroom. The towels were a little grayish for a Hilton. Tiny pool in front of restaurant, the fitness center looks good. Breakfast buffet is good. Free Wifi in Lobby. Being this the holiday season, there were a lot of parties going on which caused noise up to 1 in the morning. Extensive cable TV options no pay per view. Get a good rate, certain rates in this hotel tend to be excessive (above rack)
Funny observation: people took pictures of the Christmas tree in the lobby...

Room Tip: Get a higher quieter room, noise is high in lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Princess S, Manager at Barcelo San Salvador, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Princess San Salvador,
Dear Jose
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in San Salvador and for taking your valuable time to share your comments with us and other travelers and recommending our service. We are really glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your needs and exceeded your expectations with our location. We’re sorry to hear your experience you had with the noise and the towels, we will consider your comments and will forward the feedback to each manager responsible for the area.

We appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#8 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Salvador

Property: Barcelo San Salvador
Address: Ave las Magnolias y Blvd del Hipodromo, San Salvador, El Salvador (Formerly Hilton Princess San Salvador)
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a High-rise Hotel situated in the heart of business district with spectacular views to the volcano and the city. Surrounded by the best restaurants in a secure and calm area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Princess San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Hilton Hotel San Salvador
Hilton San Salvador
San Salvador Hilton
Barcelo San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing