We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I would not stay elsewhere in San Salvador. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent both at breakfast and at Asian restaurant in the hotel. The gym was OK even though there could have been more than one (old) mattress. The room was pleasant but the bathtub looked a bit worn out. Room safe was not functioning properly on some days but I managed to open and close it with several attempts without having to ask for help. Pool was nice but there was no changing room (maybe it was in the part of gym that is being renovated?) while the information sheet of the hotel requested not to bring towels from rooms. Well, how does one change into bathing suit if there is no changing room at the pool area? Generally, written information provided in rooms could be more extended. For example, breakfast location was not clear from the written information even though it was not hard to find in the morning. In such insecure country as El Salvador, I felt very safe in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ematv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear ematv:

We really thank you for this comment. Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and great service is our top priority, we are going to work on your remarks and we hope to have you with us again in a near future!!!

Thank you very much for your review.

Sincerely yours,

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    209
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
101
104
59
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed there on a recent tour for a week and were very impressed. The accomodations were very nice and clean. We also ate at the restaurants in the hotel and they were very good as well. The only concern is that while we were there, the power went out at least once a day, making it somewhat inconvenient for the air conditioning, alarm clocks and room safes. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Dan B:

On behalf of InterContinental San Salvador staff we want to thank you for your review!
Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and great service is our top priority, because of this, we apologize for the inconvenience caused when the power went out and we hope to have you with us again in a near future.

Thank you very much!!

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Popular with conventions and large groups this is one of the nicest hotels in San Salvador. Spacious rooms and wonderful amenities this hotel is where it's at! Beautiful views, manicured grounds, great location and some wonderful restaurants. The only concern I have is with the gym. It was very warm in the gym due to lack of A/C. Also the equipment is starting to show some wear. However it appears that the hotel is aware of the issue since there is a sign stating that the area is under refurbishment. The other beautiful amenities make this a perfect choice for your stay. Customer service is delightful from the staff and overall pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide for a better view of this beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBurrowsFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TheBurrowsFL:

Thank you very much for this time you took writing this comment, we are glad to know that you have enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to have you with us again.

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the first stop in a summer tour of central America, and one of the stronger hotel choices. High standards throughout from reception to the rooms. We chose not to eat here as there were other local choices available just over the footbridge so can't comment on the food offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear OnwardTraveller:

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

Thank you very much!!!

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to El Salvador. We had 4 rooms, and each of us had excellent service the entire time of our stay. The rooms were very clean (even the corners) and the hotel was so willing to accomodate every thing we needed. We had brought many extra bags with us for gifts, and the hotel willingly stored the extra ones for us until we needed them. They were fantastic with helping us with everything we needed, the hostess at the breakfast knew our names by the end of the week, the breakfast itself was fantastic, the massage therapist was exquisite, the beds were super comfortable, and the service overall was simply great. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelem7029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear michelem7029:

On behalf of InterContinental San Salvador staff we want to thank you for sending in your review! We are delighted with your comment and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

Thank you very much!!

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Is not safe during the night to go out. So if you are inside the hotel is good but what if you want to have fun and go out for the night??? May be someday is gonna be safe, but not yet.
Because is something happens the police take a long time to get there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honorific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Honorific:

Thank you very much for this comment.

we hope to have you with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a decent property in San Salvador. It lacks some things that are common to Intercontinental properties. After staying a couple of nights at the Intercontinental in Guatemala City where things such as internet and breakfast were for the same rate was not honored in this property. Ambassador upgrades were not honored at this property either. Service at the Mexican restaurant was not great and the food left some to be desired. Breakfast was OK! Your typical buffet thing but lacked basics such as grapefruit juice. It is an old property but the rooms look like they have been renovated somewhat. Showers, bathtubs and sinks are old and the ones in my room did not drain appropriately. Internet service was spotty and disconnected itself too often, forcing you to register and re-register each time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DMullert:

We really thank you for this comment. We are going to work on your remarks in order to improve our product and service.

We hope to have you with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
671 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
3.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 54 in San Salvador
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
460 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Property: Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#1 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located at the city's business center and next to Metrocentro Mall, one of Central America's largest shopping malls with more than 500 venues. Our guestrooms are designed to ensure your best rest, equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high streaming speed Internet and more. Enjoy our wide selection of restaurants such as Faisca do Brasil, an authentic rodizio style Brazilian steakhouse. Nau Sushi Lounge where guests enjoy fresh sushi rolls, handcrafted cocktails and live music. Picasso Stone Flame Oven is our casual restaurant, the perfect spot for enjoying pizzas, carpaccios, burgers, pastas and desserts. Guests can exercise at our fitness center or relax at our Spa InterContinental where they can choose from a variety of soothing massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing