We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shame about WiFi”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We have nothing bad to say about our 4 night stay at the Intercontinental in San Salvador. Excellent service, beautiful room and great restaurants.
Our special thanks go to Marvin the concierge during our stay, keep a look out for him, he is one of the best in the business.
We can and will recommend this hotel to anyone, the only 1 star award goes to the accounts department as we we were charged extra for wifi.
Shame on you. Even as a Priority member I had to pay $3.99 for 2 hours.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest Guest:

Thank you for sending us this fabulous review! Great service is our top priority so we are very pleased that our service consistently exceeds your expectations. About Internet service, let us inform you that Elite Priority Club member will have it Included from July 2013.
Thank you and we hope you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    209
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
101
104
59
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is modern, and the service is extraordinary at all levels. Clearly they have trained the staff very well and they take pride at the quality of the service. The problem is the room. It smells, the pillows don't seem to be very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Gazap0

We are thankful for the time you took in write this review, we are going to work on your remarks about the room in order to improve and provide you the best service and product.

We hope to have you with us again.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second visit to San Salvador, staying at the InterContinental Hotels Real San Salvador. Their staff is very friendly and helpful (and mostly bi-lingual)! Rooms are very comfortable! If you get a chance, eat at "FAISCA DO BRASIL", where you can eat many varieties of meats ~ the roasted pineapple is also a "must"! We also enjoyed Margaritas and chips in salsa at "TEQUILAS BAR & BOTANAS". If you're planning a trip to San Salvador, I would definitely recommend staying at the InterContinental Hotels Real San Salvador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear LindaP777:

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment, we are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your 2 previous stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely your,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in early March 2013. for 5 nights San Salvador is not the safest city in the world. So in looking for hotel security was a priority. This is a safe and secure hotel, with everything you need in the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. There is a nice Mexican restaurant for drinks and Mexican food. Reasonably priced and happy hour for beer (2 for 1) between 6-8 daily. The Brazilian restaurant is a great treat (see my separate review) but not for every night. There is a nice lobby bar with section of food (happy hour between 7-9). The breakfast buffet is good, but close to $20. If you do not want to eat in the hotel, there is lots of places in the mall across the street (fast food, American, etc.) If adventurous go to local bars behind the hotel at low cost. I would not adventure more than a block or so away from the hotel, or beyond the mall. The pool and fitness center is very nice. The executive lounge is small and not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawninottawa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear shawninottawa68:

We want to thank you for this review, now we are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about my trip to El Salvador. It was my first time in the country and I'd heard that it can be very dangerous. The InterContinental and its staff made me and my husband feel very safe and well taken care of. The hotel is clean, modern, and has all the amenities I would expect of a five-star hotel in the States. The Executive Club level was great (excellent breakfast and happy hour food and courteous staff). The restaurant food was delicioius and I really enjoyed the variety of options. The spa is small but my husband and I received great hour-long massages for only $40! I would definately recommend the hotel to others and if I ever go back to El Salvador, will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyat5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear tanyat5683:

Thank you for your time to write this line about your stay in our hotel, those words help us to keep working on those details that help us to grow every day.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel was nicer than I expected! It is centrally located, and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. We were there for our Spring Break in March 2013 and the hotel was fully booked. It seems to be the hotel to stay at for business meetings and conferences. The rooms were clean and well kept, my only negative remark would be that the beds were a bit hard, and the AC in our room would not get cold enough. My parents room and my sister and brother in laws rooms did get cold, so it may of just been mine. Other than that, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear karla s:

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay. Also, we are going to work on your remarks in order to improve room comfort. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was very good overall; room was nice, bed very comfortable. Only bad thing I could say about the room, actually, was that there was a bathtub/shower combo in the bathroom and because of this, they have used shower curtains. I hate shower curtains and it just cheapens the atmosphere of a hotel like this. Room service attendants were great, always cheery and helpful. I have to say, though, that I had the worst pizza of my life while there. Do not order pizza!!!

Now for the bad part: upon arrival, we found out that the company I work for hadn't yet paid for our stay - I tried paying for it with my own credit card, but since I hadn't unblocked it for international transactions it was denied. We left a money deposit for our first night and an extra for possible additional expenses and would resolve the matter the next day since it was already past midnight. When my colleague arrived at his room, though, he found out that they had locked his minibar and taken away the key - when callling the reception, he was told that yes, it was locked, since we hadn't made a credit card reservation for the whole stay. Did I mention that we gave them a money deposit in cash for the first night + an additional sum? Yeah. That left a bitter taste, since I would expect this kind of behaviour from a (bad) hostel, not Intercontinental.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhamnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Gerente at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado nhamnham:

Agradecemos mucho su comentario en relación a su reciente estadía con nosotros, lamentamos mucho los inconveniente ocasionados pero créanos que este tipo de comentarios nos ayuda a mejorar día con día y esperamos nos de la oportunidad de servirle nuevamente, y brindarle el servicio y las atenciones que usted se merece.
Reiteramos nuestro agradecimiento por su comentario y quedamos a sus apreciables ordenes.

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
673 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
3.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 54 in San Salvador
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 54 in San Salvador
460 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 54 in San Salvador
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 54 in San Salvador
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Property: Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located at the city's business center and next to Metrocentro Mall, one of Central America's largest shopping malls with more than 500 venues. Our guestrooms are designed to ensure your best rest, equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high streaming speed Internet and more. Enjoy our wide selection of restaurants such as Faisca do Brasil, an authentic rodizio style Brazilian steakhouse. Nau Sushi Lounge where guests enjoy fresh sushi rolls, handcrafted cocktails and live music. Picasso Stone Flame Oven is our casual restaurant, the perfect spot for enjoying pizzas, carpaccios, burgers, pastas and desserts. Guests can exercise at our fitness center or relax at our Spa InterContinental where they can choose from a variety of soothing massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing