We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Once again, great service!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second visit to San Salvador, staying at the InterContinental Hotels Real San Salvador. Their staff is very friendly and helpful (and mostly bi-lingual)! Rooms are very comfortable! If you get a chance, eat at "FAISCA DO BRASIL", where you can eat many varieties of meats ~ the roasted pineapple is also a "must"! We also enjoyed Margaritas and chips in salsa at "TEQUILAS BAR & BOTANAS". If you're planning a trip to San Salvador, I would definitely recommend staying at the InterContinental Hotels Real San Salvador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear LindaP777:

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment, we are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your 2 previous stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely your,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    199
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
96
97
57
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in early March 2013. for 5 nights San Salvador is not the safest city in the world. So in looking for hotel security was a priority. This is a safe and secure hotel, with everything you need in the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. There is a nice Mexican restaurant for drinks and Mexican food. Reasonably priced and happy hour for beer (2 for 1) between 6-8 daily. The Brazilian restaurant is a great treat (see my separate review) but not for every night. There is a nice lobby bar with section of food (happy hour between 7-9). The breakfast buffet is good, but close to $20. If you do not want to eat in the hotel, there is lots of places in the mall across the street (fast food, American, etc.) If adventurous go to local bars behind the hotel at low cost. I would not adventure more than a block or so away from the hotel, or beyond the mall. The pool and fitness center is very nice. The executive lounge is small and not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawninottawa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear shawninottawa68:

We want to thank you for this review, now we are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about my trip to El Salvador. It was my first time in the country and I'd heard that it can be very dangerous. The InterContinental and its staff made me and my husband feel very safe and well taken care of. The hotel is clean, modern, and has all the amenities I would expect of a five-star hotel in the States. The Executive Club level was great (excellent breakfast and happy hour food and courteous staff). The restaurant food was delicioius and I really enjoyed the variety of options. The spa is small but my husband and I received great hour-long massages for only $40! I would definately recommend the hotel to others and if I ever go back to El Salvador, will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyat5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear tanyat5683:

Thank you for your time to write this line about your stay in our hotel, those words help us to keep working on those details that help us to grow every day.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel was nicer than I expected! It is centrally located, and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. We were there for our Spring Break in March 2013 and the hotel was fully booked. It seems to be the hotel to stay at for business meetings and conferences. The rooms were clean and well kept, my only negative remark would be that the beds were a bit hard, and the AC in our room would not get cold enough. My parents room and my sister and brother in laws rooms did get cold, so it may of just been mine. Other than that, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear karla s:

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay. Also, we are going to work on your remarks in order to improve room comfort. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was very good overall; room was nice, bed very comfortable. Only bad thing I could say about the room, actually, was that there was a bathtub/shower combo in the bathroom and because of this, they have used shower curtains. I hate shower curtains and it just cheapens the atmosphere of a hotel like this. Room service attendants were great, always cheery and helpful. I have to say, though, that I had the worst pizza of my life while there. Do not order pizza!!!

Now for the bad part: upon arrival, we found out that the company I work for hadn't yet paid for our stay - I tried paying for it with my own credit card, but since I hadn't unblocked it for international transactions it was denied. We left a money deposit for our first night and an extra for possible additional expenses and would resolve the matter the next day since it was already past midnight. When my colleague arrived at his room, though, he found out that they had locked his minibar and taken away the key - when callling the reception, he was told that yes, it was locked, since we hadn't made a credit card reservation for the whole stay. Did I mention that we gave them a money deposit in cash for the first night + an additional sum? Yeah. That left a bitter taste, since I would expect this kind of behaviour from a (bad) hostel, not Intercontinental.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhamnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Gerente at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado nhamnham:

Agradecemos mucho su comentario en relación a su reciente estadía con nosotros, lamentamos mucho los inconveniente ocasionados pero créanos que este tipo de comentarios nos ayuda a mejorar día con día y esperamos nos de la oportunidad de servirle nuevamente, y brindarle el servicio y las atenciones que usted se merece.
Reiteramos nuestro agradecimiento por su comentario y quedamos a sus apreciables ordenes.

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wasn't quite sure what to expect but exceeded the unsure expectations. The room was very comfortable, and the hotel was next to a large mall that contained movies, shops, restaurants etc. so it was easy to walk about. Special deal/promotion on wireless/drinks/breakfast meant we ate, drank, and caught up on emails cheaper than ever before in a 5 star hotel. Four restaurants within the premises, and a small but swimmable pool. Taxis to downtown and other areas always available. Excellent service at reception desk. This good experience influenced booking with the same chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Gerente at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear NEYORKPROF

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location and amenities the hotel offers many restaurant and bar options, The room are super clean and with the most advance tech and comfort. Internet super fast and great value. Club sandwich one of the greatest things to order for room service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaMartinezGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes estimado RafaMartinezGT,

Gracias por el tiempo dedicado en publicar tan excelente comentario, nos llena de satisfacción el haber sido parte de su reciente estadía en nuestro país y sobre todo que nuestro producto y servicio haya superado sus expectativas. Esperamos poder tenerle con nosotros nuevamente.

Saludos Cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Property: Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#1 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located at the city's business center and next to Metrocentro Mall, one of Central America's largest shopping malls with more than 500 venues. Our guestrooms are designed to ensure your best rest, equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high streaming speed Internet and more. Enjoy our wide selection of restaurants such as Faisca do Brasil, an authentic rodizio style Brazilian steakhouse. Nau Sushi Lounge where guests enjoy fresh sushi rolls, handcrafted cocktails and live music. Picasso Stone Flame Oven is our casual restaurant, the perfect spot for enjoying pizzas, carpaccios, burgers, pastas and desserts. Guests can exercise at our fitness center or relax at our Spa InterContinental where they can choose from a variety of soothing massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing