We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intercontinental is best option at customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intercontinental is best option at customer service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had travelled several times to Salvador, At this opportunity for me was a pleasure to feel at Intercontinental the best sensation in customer service.
It's amazing that everybody hotel staff knew my name.
My deeper congratulation to waiters and maid staff.

Room Tip: For business and pleasure, intercontinental is your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jairo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jneuta,
Thank you for sending us this fabulous review! Great service is our top priority so we are very pleased that our service consistently exceeds your expectations. Thank you for this great feedback, we hope you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    199
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
96
97
57
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staying here is like living in an America bubble. As soon as you walk in the hotel, you have all the familiar settings- high spacious structured architecture and business feel. The perfect temperature control shuts out all the humidity and heat, leaving the room quiet and calm.

Even when you turn on the TV, all the American channels will make you think you were just sitting in any other US Intercontinental room. And if you can't find what you want to watch or have your laptop, you can utilize the complete panel of video, audio, USB connection to the 37" LCD TV either for your own movie or prepare for a full screen presentation. The local packs of Salvadorian coffee was the only indication that you are in actually in El Salvador.

Amenities were plenty ample and complete. And the adjustable reading light on the headboard was a nice touch. They ran out of king size beds at the time and only had 2 non-queen size beds. These were Full size beds but were still very comfortable.

The service from the concierge, check-in, to people who were helping to carry the bags, were all very courteous and efficient.

Food wise, for the dinner, the drink was good strong and not too sweet. The ceviche was quite good. But the fish dish was a bit on the bland side even with the heavy sauce on top. The guacamole was okay. For breakfast, it had a good selection of cheese, typical American cereal breakfast. But the bonus was Granadilla fruit and pupusas!

In terms of location, this hotel is very much situated for shopping as crossing the street is the gigantic mall MetroCentro.

Or rather, they have an excellent concierge who's specialized in short tours if you only have a few hours to check out the city. Talking to Marvin at 9am, the concierge person who has the information at his fingertips and is knowledgeable to put things together quickly, he was able to book a tour for 10am (they usually just need just half an hour) with a tour guide (tour guide drove his own car) to visit the San Salvador Volcano (15 dollars) and the city center (35 dollars.) Not too cheap for just 2.5 hours but considering the prompt, fast but safe driving, it was definitely worth the quick trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaminatorSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear TaminatorSF,
Thank you for sending in your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our recently updated and modern guest rooms. Service is very important to us and we thank you for your wonderful remarks to our Concierge staff. Your positive review will go a long way to motivate all of our staff to keep up the good work and continue to deliver the great service that we are known for. Thank you and we hope you will come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Not as new as the one in Nicaragua or Honduras, but definitely a good place for all. Room service is excellent, clean everywhere, people are friendly, cab drivers are always there, and it is sitting right across a mall. There are restaurants everywhere and near within walking distance, but do not recommend you walk the first day at least if you go to the mall. I took a cab just to take me across the street the first time, the second time I went across a pedestrian bridge and mingled like any other local, I loved it. I recommend. They all strive hard to call you by name and it is really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear tiredreamer,
Thank you for sending us your review. We are overjoyed that you had a great stay with us. Maintaining great service is very important to us and we are delighted with your comments. Thank you and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicests hotel I have stayed in El Salvador.

Bed and room items seems new, have desk to work, fully customized AC and a connection panel on reach to connect TV, pc and internet. Also internet speed is decent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neavilag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear neavilag,
Thank you very much for this great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our modern, recently renovated, guest rooms. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel twice this month. Seeing as how I had to go back for a second time I did not hesitate to stay here again.The staff is all very courteous. If you forgot anything at home you can just cross the street via an overhead passageway and you are at a giant mall with all kinds of shopping and restaurant options. Speaking of restaurants there are very good options at the hotel. In fact the food is very good so there is not really a reason to leave. I spent some time at the bar with a friend and ordered dinner there and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality and when I got the bill was even happier. Their happy hour is from 7 to 9 PM so you can work a hard day then get two for one drinks and enjoy dinner at the bar. The staff there is very attentive and the bartender is good. Oh yes the room...well if you stay at Intercontinental Hotels a lot you know you do not want to get out of the bed in the morning.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the front of the hotel have a mountain view although they are off in the distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Oreo55,
Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted to have received you twice this month and we look forward to seeing you back in the future. Our kitchen and restaurant staff are very pleased with your positive remarks. Thank you for letting us know how we are doing, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a one night stay for business. I had a late check-in, time for breakfast in the morning, and then had to go. It was probably the nicest hotel that I've only stayed 12 hours in!
But in that time, I enjoyed the very quiet room, exceptional quality of amenities, previously mentioned comfortable bed, and spacious room. In the morning the complementary breakfast buffet begged for multiple trips to various food islands. It was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Laurie Foss,
Thank you for this fabulous review! We are delighted by your comments and that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for an optometry congress and the experience from beginning to end was very good.

They are cofused on attention to their guests. Any simple request was met promptly and with professionalism. Their staff was very educated and went out of their way to meet every need, In our case, we were there for business and had doctors visiting constantly. We stayed on the 8th floor which is more or less for business.

The rooms were very comfortable and specially very clean.

Room Tip: king room, not smoking, breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear gpmia,
Thank you for submitting your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your important congress. We look forward to hosting any future events you will have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#4 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#3 of 53 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 53 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Property: Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#1 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located at the city's business center and next to Metrocentro Mall, one of Central America's largest shopping malls with more than 500 venues. Our guestrooms are designed to ensure your best rest, equipped with soundproof windows, custom mattresses, high streaming speed Internet and more. Enjoy our wide selection of restaurants such as Faisca do Brasil, an authentic rodizio style Brazilian steakhouse. Nau Sushi Lounge where guests enjoy fresh sushi rolls, handcrafted cocktails and live music. Picasso Stone Flame Oven is our casual restaurant, the perfect spot for enjoying pizzas, carpaccios, burgers, pastas and desserts. Guests can exercise at our fitness center or relax at our Spa InterContinental where they can choose from a variety of soothing massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing