We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a plus!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Went with my wife and had some issues during the check in, but the staff got it solved asap. The rooms are very clean and the room was spacious. Had two smalls food malls just in front of the Hotel which made it the best location. Please try San Martin at the left hand corner of the Hotel, best breakfast and pastry. The bathroom is very clean but needs some maintenance since it seems a bit old. Besides that I totally recommend you stay at the Holdiay Inn, everything is near by. The big shopping malls, fine restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Jose Luis A,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Holiday Inn San Salvador.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our location and the size of our guestrooms. We value your feedback since it allows us to find areas of improvement and create memorable experiences for our guests. It will be shared with all related departments.

We would like to thank you again for your comments. It has been delightful to have you as our guest; we hope you will prefer us on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Salvador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

I decided to give a second chance to this property and I do not regret it. The service overall has improved significantly. I liked he room quality and distribution. The breakfast buffet was very good and they changed some things from one day to the next, good!. The assistance the staff provided to the meeting we had here was very good and reliable. I think I will consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the floors four and higher to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear TucanTico,

Thank you for reviewing us.
We are elated to learn that you liked our guestrooms, breakfast and service. Our team is constantly searching for opportunities of improvement and your comments are an invaluable tool to continue working towards guest satisfaction.
It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have the opportunity of your visit in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arriving at this attractive looking hotel as a stopover on our way to Belize (although this hotel is not particularly near the airport - may be there are no hotels near by?). A "15 year old party" was in full swing - the very friendly & helpful receptionist gave us a room on the top floor facing over the front of the hotel (as opposed to the rear of the hotel, overlooking the pool where the party was being held).

We enjoyed a light supper at the very pleasant cafe on the ground floor, before retiring to bed for a peaceful night's sleep. Room & breakfast were fine. We had a walk around the shopping mall opposite - many well known American food establishments there - before departing for the airport & our onward flight

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Kaw118,

We are delighted you had the opportunity to visit us on your way to Belize. Thank you for your feedback; we feel motivated by your comments and are very proud of our team. We hope you had a great trip!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is fine, good reception, services, etc. The problem comes when in the rooms, at about 4.30am starts coming in all type of food smells from the air conditioning. Something's wrong in the engineer who designed this since most probably they are taking the air right from beside the kitchen is sending out its smells. So waking up with such a smell has made my stay terrible. I would never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: not room 421 at least!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzalo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Gonzalo Y,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy our guestroom experience. We have studied the issue to find its possible causes. Our results have been shared with the appropriate departments to prevent it from happening in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts; we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you on your next trip to El Salvador.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very good hotel, clean rooms with a friendly staff and very helpful concierge that gave me very nice recommendations about tour agencies and things to do in San Salvador. Right across the street you will find Starbucks, McDonalds, but also a "mall" with good restaurants, so you won´t need to worry about taking a cab to find somewhere to eat at night, for example. At the hotel there is also a little charming café with really friendly staff and a delicious brownie - among other things!! And don´t worry about safety, it´s located in a very safe zone of the city and they have safe cabs parked all day long just outside the hotel. The best shopping malls of the city are not far away either, you won´t pay more than US$5 to go to Gran Vía, for example. Very nice place to stay, nothing to complain!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Celso C,

We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed our rooms, staff and coffee shop. Thank you for sharing your kind comments. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean. I would definitely stay there again and would also recommend it to others who are traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a good Holiday Inn.
Front desk people is really kind.
Fitness center is OK, and it is open until 11 pm (one thing I really value).
Not been able to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant this time, although it is really well situated.
Just in front, you can have plenty of dinning alternatives, and if you are willing to take a walk, "La Gran Via" is not far away (probably a 10 minute walk, which is not recommended to be done at night, better taking a taxi at that time).
The pool is kind of small, and not really sunny, so would not take it as a decision driver.
Great for business trips.
If you are going in December, I would recommend taking a street view room. Back rooms face to the pool, and might be a bit noisy, as the hotel rents some saloons for year end parties (in my case, there were graduation parties every night). No big deal if you can manage some noise when going to sleep, but might be disturbing for some people. This happened only in my last visit, in December, all other visits were OK.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuequeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
#4 of 55 in San Salvador
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 55 in San Salvador
472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
1.8 mi away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Salvador

Address: Blvd y Urbanizacion Santa Elena | Calle el pital Oriente, 400 mts al Norte de Embajada Americana, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: $94 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Salvador 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn San Salvador. Attractions: El Salvador Int'l Airport 27.5 Mi./44 Km., US Embassy 4 blks, Feria Int'l 1.8 Mi./3 Km., Botanic Garden 1/2 Mi./1 Km.,Arts & Crafts Market 1.5 Mi./2.5 Km., Casinos Nearby, Beaches and Ruins 30 min., Basilica de Guadalupe, 1/2 Mi./1 Km., La Gran Via 1/2Mi./1Km,Multiplaza 1/2Mi./1Km,Zona Rosa 2 Mi./3.5 Km., Flor Blanca Stadium 3.2 Mi./5 Km., Metro Cathedral 8 Mi./13 Km. Facilities: 126 rooms, 7 floors, 3 Suites, Mtgs/Banq. to 1000, int. corridor, elevator, free parking, Non-smoking floors. Features: outdoor pool, El Balsamo Restaurant, lounge bar, local and cable TV w/HBO/ESPN/CNN/TBS/TNT, Pay-Per-View movies, wheelchair acom., in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safety deposit box, smoke detector, gym/exercise room. Services: Business Center, scheduled airport shuttle ($18.00 each way). MISC.: No pets, no kennels Directions: From El Salvador Int'l Airport, take Comalapa Hwy to the Autopista Sur. Head Toward San Salvador City. Turn Left onto Autopista Sur, toward Santa Tecla City. Stay on Santa Tecla Hwy, turn left Toward Urb. Santa Elena, turn left onto Santa Elena Blvd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
San Salvador Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Salvador El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing