We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too busy to serve”
Review of Clavo y Canela

Clavo y Canela
Ranked #17 of 367 Restaurants in San Salvador
Cuisines: Salvadoran
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

A group of 5 of us went due to previous good experiences. Unfortunately they were to busy with other tables to do a decent job with us. The was a usual great and medium rare was not over cooked. Our issue was with the waiter he never brought our soup that was part of the meal,never checked up on us if we needed anything else or if everything was fine. We asked the manager what happened and he apologized for the oversight and offered us 1 piece of dessert for the 5 of us to share. Very dissatisfied with the service and treatment but the food was great.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

A true hidden jewel! I practically went every evening to have dinner and try a new plate. locals advised me it's s new restaurant and I had to try it. on Friday nights they have live music. it's so close to the US Embassy. parking is limited but lucky me, my rental was within walking distance.

I kid you NOT... EVERY plate was good! the mashed potatoes.... AMAZING. The salmon... DELICIOUS! the plate called "mar y Tierra"... just perfect!

The staff was so friendly as well!

really small upscale restaurant but worth the investment!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

As an American tourist that knows very little Spanish, I was thrilled to find this restaurant with its English language menu. The selection was great and so was the food. Service was friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

We have been at this restaurant several times, as we can walk there from our hotel. This year we went only once, because the service was so bad and the wait so long. There were 15 of us, so it was a large group. It took nearly an hour to get the drinks people ordered, including bottles of beer and water. The dinners took even longer, and our group was weary from a day of working in the sun. Our daughter had the filet, which she said was the best steak she's ever had, but her potatoes and vegetables were not hot. I had pasta Genovese, which is usually very good but also was not hot. My husband had Lomo Typico, which was good. Usually when one orders dinner, a cup of consume is included. We saw other tables receiving this, but we did not. Portions are generous. Several ordered dessert to go (Desserts are displayed in a case at the restaurant entrance and are very tempting.) and enjoyed them. We will most likely visit Clavo y Canela again in hopes that the service will be back to their usual standards.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eldereaglewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is usually full, you may have to wait a few minutes, but it's because the breakfasts are delicious, the platters are big and tasty and the desserts (if you have any room) are amazing.
Sometimes they have live music that is a little too loud and a little low on quality.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank LeahSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clavo y Canela also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Clavo y Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing