We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short hike with great views”

Parque Nacional El Boqueron
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour: San Salvador City and Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nice short hike with great views”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We drove into the park from the north and there were some excellent views of distant volcanoes all the way to the north as we ascended. But once you reach the park itself, the views down into the crater and over the city are even better! Just a short (but steep) 15 or 20 minute climb up to the viewing area and you come back along the rim a short way. OK display about the volcano's formation at the entrance. We were told that there's a good restaurant near the park with nice views of the city but didn't have time to stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank viaducttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    207
    42
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is awesome! It has such a great view from top!! Best thing, It wasnt windy that day, so it made the trip even better...!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveOseda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Climbing a Volcano”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The climb to the top of the volcano isn't too tough, but the views are spectacular. Well worth a visit to see the crater of an active volcano.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CeliacBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easy hike”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A great place to get away and enjoy the cool weather and great views. I think it's $1 to get in. We bring a snack and a drink to enjoy while we simply relax.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mitakuuluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular view to dormant crater.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Located atop a volcano crater rim, the view is the main attraction. The park trails border the rim, and you can see all the way down to the crater, full of lush vegetation, and clear skies. The trails even allow you to go down to the crater, though some risk exist. No amenities, but worth seing, definitively.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional El Boqueron also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Parque Nacional El Boqueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing