We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and friendly staff”

International Guest House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 48 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our spacious room. The sheets kept coming off the bed as we slept, but they were clean. The shower was hot most of the time. The room had a tv. The breakfast was delicious and the owner even organised for the chef to make us Pupusas one morning as we were yet to try this El Salvador (and Honduras) specialty. It was a bit expensive, but then it is hard to get good cheap accommodation in a capital city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the International Guest House for a month last summer while studying Spanish and doing some volunteering with a local non-profit organization. The owners and staff were helpful and welcoming and were accessible for questions and recommendations for food and shopping and travel around San Salvador. The owners are interesting people who know much of the history of El Salvador - he is a retired professor and well-known writer, she is active in social causes - and delegations from US based churches and non-profits frequently use the hotel and the meeting space on the first floor behind the dining room. The Salvadoran breakfasts were very good and ample - and I was even able to store a few food items and cold drinks in the refrigerator in the kitchen for evening snacks. I had a large room with bath, ac and television for $22.00 per night. The hotel is located in a relatively safe neighborhood - close to public transportation, the University of San Salvador, shopping, several good restaurants including vegetarian, Mexican, pizza and Salvadoran barbecue - all within a short walk. Cabs are also readily available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathySalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basye, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I travel to El Salvador with my church group. We feel it to be important be frugal in our lodging and generous in our giving to our sister church and school. I have been here a half a dozen times. The rooms are small but clean and adequate. Don't come here looking for luxury. The hosts make you feel welcome and the hotel is safe.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

San Salvador can be expensive and intimidating- lots of talk about safety etc. We found this option opposite another hostel which wanted $30 a night, we got this one for $22 I think for double room.

Friendly, helpful, family home vibe.

Computers for internet and free wifi.

Room itself was fine. Two single beds, decent enough ensuite, fans and a TV.

Location is good, prob a 15 min walk to the centre. The hostel is in a suburban area, felt really safe. Actually San Salvador felt safe, not sure what everyone was going on about.!

Room Tip: Ask to be shown a couple of rooms and choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.0 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 54 in San Salvador
655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
#23 of 48 in San Salvador
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 54 in San Salvador
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
#28 of 54 in San Salvador
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tazumal House
Hotel Tazumal House
#5 of 48 in San Salvador
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House Hotel

Property: International Guest House Hotel
Address: 35 Av Nte No 9 Bis de Los Cines Reforma, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your International Guest House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing