We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice hotel for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramonte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramonte
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in San Salvador
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had the chance to stay at this hotel for 7 nights.The hotel was very clean and the staff was super.The only problemIi had was the restaraunt closed very early and i guess because of so few guest it was not opened some nights.But the breakfast was always very good and came at no charge with the room.Overall a very pleasent stay.

Room Tip: you should go with the superior room wifi in the room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barryadamar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

You won't mistake the Miramonte for its neighbor the Intercontinental, but it is located in a seemingly safe neighborhood convenient to the Metrocentro Mall, the largest in Central America. Every fast food restaurant you've ever heard of - and some you haven't - are located in multiple locations around the area. There are also several "sports" bars around the corner from the Miramonte.

The hotel has three different types of rooms: "economic," "intermedium" and "plus." I reserved an intermedium room only to be told upon arrival that the hotel had no record of my reservation despite my having a confirmation number. The person with whom I was dealing said he had no "intermedium" rooms available but that there was a plus room he could put me in. He expected that I would pay the difference between the two rooms. I told him bluntly that this was the hotel's mistake and that it was up to the hotel to make it right. I don't know if this was a bait and switch tactic, but I stood firm and in the end he did do the right thing by giving me the "plus" room at the "intermedium" price. However, he said he would have to take away the "free" breakfast, apparently to offset the difference. I wasn't in the mood to argue any further, and in the end I wasn't charged for the breakfast anyway.

If what I got was a "plus" room, I would hesitate to see what the room was like that I had originally reserved. While the room was clean, the furnishings were dated and the only illumination was provided by an overhead fixture and a bedside lamp with a 40 watt light bulb that was part of a telephone table. The lamp wasn't plugged in and the nearest serviceable outlet was on the other side of the bed, so it was necessary to move the table. This proved to be something of a challenge because the telephone was glued to the table. I'm not sure what this says about the hotel or its clientele.

While the bathroom was small, I was pleased that unlike hotels in this price range in Guatemala from where I was coming that there was actually a working hot water tap in the sink. The hot water wasn't exactly scalding; it wasn't necessary to turn on the cold water tap to moderate the temperature. But it was constant in both the sink and the shower. The pressure was acceptable. If you stay in this hotel, I would advise bringing your own toilet paper. What was supplied were those useless industrial-type one ply individual squares. I had a difficult time obtaining an additional towel, but that may have been more of a language barrier problem. My Spanish is limited and most of the staff has no English at all.

The swimming pool looked like it had not been cleaned in awhile and the area surrounding it was relatively unattractive. While wi-fi is provided, the signal was weak. There is excellent security. This hotel is probably acceptable for a one or two night stay, but for longer I think I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbcguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Situated in a residential neighborhood, yet very near a large modern shopping mall, a main avenue and a stretch of ramshackled but fun bars and restaurants, the Mirante is in a good-location. The building is not new and not renovated; it's a rambling wreck of a place, but with an atmospheric feel. Room furnishings appear to be at least thirty or more years' old, but have aged well. Excepting the windows and curtains which aren't effective enough against the light and noise. Room and bath was good-sized and internet is included. This was probably one of the better hotels in town back in the day. Pool was small without much open space around it. Okay breakfast served outdoors if you want. Gun toting guard on the door at night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed at the Intercontental for a few days and then moved to this place once I knew my tip to San Salvador was going to be extended. This place is one block behind the Intercontental, and is a great deal. The room are very clean, service good, great hot water with fantastic water pressure. There is a small swimming pool and this place is kets locked up nice and safe. I was impressed with the free breakfast as well.
This place is located in the zona viva, and there has to be 30 bars all within a few safe blocks. surprisingly enough, there is no noise that comes this way. The place is on a great quiet street.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gfriedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.7 mi away
La Porta Plaza Hotel
La Porta Plaza Hotel
#20 of 52 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
#31 of 52 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alameda
Hotel Alameda
#30 of 52 in San Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy House
Hotel Happy House
#40 of 52 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#7 of 52 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramonte

Property: Hotel Miramonte
Address: Talamanca Street. #2904, Block 4 | Col. Miramonte, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Miramonte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Miramonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramonte El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing