We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Cumbres del Volcan
Ranked #5 of 51 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a great budget hostel in a safe part of town !
The owner is more than helpful when it comes to places to visit and how to navigate the
Buses.
I paid $10 for a single bed in a 4 bed dorm and there were even cheaper beds if a really on a budget.
Will be back again for my last night before flying home

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaillacBNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Adviser; we always appreciate customer reviews. I was in California during your stay for the marriage of our son, so I am sorry I was not able to meet you. But Walter and Sara are great and certainly much appreciated by me and I am glad to see they were appreciated by you too! I hope you had a wonderful time in El Salvador and were able to see some of this beautiful country. Buen Viaje!
Malcolm Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Cumbres del Volcan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed overnight at this place after hanging around in San Salvador and too exhausted to make a late night return to my hometown. Hard to beat the $10 a night deal of this place, though the people running the place aren't the most talkative of all. It has good wifi, amazing location with ATMs, supermarkets, restaurants and other bars nearby. Another issue was the shower as the water coming out was piping hot and couldn't get any cold water out of it. This is also a very safe and quiet area in San Salvador so you can expect to have a good sleep too. Tip: try the bars that area just one block down from here, or the hip restaurants on the tiny mall next to the tower. They're amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmr9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

I was in California during your stay with us, so I am sorry I did not get to meet you. But I am glad Walter and Sara were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. They are both great, and very much appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Adviser. I have passed on your comments to Walter and Sara and it has made their day. Again thank you very much, y Buen Viaje. Malcolm Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's a nice place, nice rooms, good kitchen, good internet, seems like a nice neighbourhood but...
The people running it are not very talkative/informative about anything. You have to be very proactive if you need or want anything. The other downside was the shower. The drainage wasn't the best on the first night then when I went to have a shower the second there simply wasn't any water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Adviser. I am sorry I was in California and did not have the opportunity to meet you. Walter and Sara are both very young, and although they were doing a great job running the Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, they were still a little hesitant. Also Walter was learning English and still a little afraid to talk in English even when he understood (his English is now excellent!!) . We all hope you enjoyed you stay in El Salvador and were able to see some of this beautiful country. Hope to see you again some day. Buen Viaje y que le vaya bien!
Malcolm Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall a bit of weird place but in a good location and safe neighbourhood. Just a bit of a weird atmosphere in general as it seems to jut be a converted house but it has a good kitchen and is a good place to stay for a couple of nights if you're passing through San Salvador.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all reviews. During your stay I was on an extended trip to California due to the marriage of our youngest son and then the unexpected death of my father. Walter and Sara did a fantastic job of managing things in my absence, but they are both very young and were still learning, including English which Walter now speaks very well, but when you were here he was still very hesitant to speak. We all hope your stay in El Salvador was enjoyable and you were able to see some of this beautiful country and its friendly people. Buen Viaje!
Malcolm Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The Hostel is located in a bouche San Salv neighborhood with great proximity to local transport (also has secure parking). The owner Malcolm is a great source of info on just about everything in the city and the accommodations range from large singles to clean dorms. Hard to beat this place at $10 a night

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIRC0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Manager at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor, and for taking to time to write them. We hope your stay in El Salvador was enjoyable and you were able to see some of this wonderful, beautiful country and all the friendly people who love to help tourists to find some of the very special places to see.
Malcolm Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here one night before ctching the early morning bus to Nicaragua.
If we were to be staying longer in San Salvadour we definately stay here. Family owners were friendly and helpful, good location, safe, good vlue, clean rooms, What more could you want.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you. Walter, Sara and I enjoyed your stay with us very much and wish you could have spent more time in El Salvador. Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor.
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was one of the best hotels/hostals we stayed in during our time away. The room was marvellous, the owner is so kind and will give you all kinds of information on not just San Salvador but the country as a whole.

You are just round the corner from a new up market development with bars and restuarants and it was perfectly safe to walk there a night time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hampcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalCumbresDelVolc, Owner at Hostal Cumbres del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor. I am sorry not to have responded more promptly, but I was delaying in California due to the marriage of our youngest son, and then the unexpected death of my father. I have passed on your review to Walter and Sara and they say hi; they still remember you. Walter has now become fluent in English and his English is now much better than my Spanish! Hope to see you again sometime in future, and hope you are having a wonderful time somewhere. Buen Viaje!
Malcolm, Walter y Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#16 of 55 in San Salvador
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
Hotel Nueva Villa Santander
#30 of 55 in San Salvador
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Happy House
Hotel Happy House
#37 of 55 in San Salvador
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#6 of 55 in San Salvador
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
Hotel Villa Florencia Centro
#23 of 51 in San Salvador
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cumbres del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cumbres del Volcan

Address: 85 Avenida Norte #637 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1068, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hostal offering an attractive alternative for both business and pleasure travelers. Conveniently located only two blocks from the Torre Futura, World Trade Center, in the heart of the business, financial, and commercial district of San Salvador. Offering clean and comfortable rooms with breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Cumbres del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cumbres Del Volcan El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing